A-Nu ‘Fro

A Nu Fro

Earlier this season I decided to wear my own hair and I was loving it.  More recently I decided to switch it up a little.  A number of years ago I came up with this style and I coined it A-Nu ‘Fro. It was featured in that summer’s Khamit Kinks hair show.  It’s a wonderful carefree style that allows you to wear a stylized, naturally textured ‘fro, created using your own hair. I’ve been sporting it for a few weeks and have been pleasantly surprised by the many compliments and also the questions:  ‘What is that?’  ‘How do you do that?’  People should know they’ve gone too far when they ask if I did it myself!  Gone are the days when I can hold my arms up that long to do my own hair!

A-Nu Fro2

But wearing this style has been a real pleasure.  One of the fun parts was seeking out the best Afro pick.  You see when I awaken in the morning, my Nu ‘Fro is all mis-shapened from sleeping on it.  I simply lift the roots with my Afro pick to even it all out.  It takes a cool 30 seconds or so, and then I’m off to my day.   Looking for a cool, care-free style?  You might consider checking out the A-Nu ‘Fro.

36 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by amsong on September 9, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Very nice, Anu!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Judy on September 9, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    I love it. Just what I am looking for. No extensions, no wig. Is Khamit Kinks doing this?
    Judy

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lelia Hall-Smith on September 9, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    Girlfriend:
    You look gooooood!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Louise on September 10, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Anu, not only does your hair look great, your skin is fabulous.

    Reply

    • Thanks Louise, that wasn’t always the case. I used to have lots of acne into my twenties. But then my skin changed tremendously when I became a vegetarian over three decades ago. Though I am no longer a vegetarian, I have included fish and fowl in my diet; I sincerely believe my diet, the supplements and exercising all help my skin.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Fuchsia Morpho on September 12, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Hi,

    Like the ‘fro but I do not see pricing for it on the KhamitKinks website or any details. Can you help?

    Reply

  6. Posted by rhonda on September 13, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Anu girl you have done it again your new DO looks great.
    What did you do to get this look. I get that look close to something like that by getting the starter locs and leave them in for about 7-10 days the seperate at the root. Tell
    me what it takes? Just love it

    Reply

  7. Posted by Tamara on September 14, 2009 at 8:18 am

    I love that hair style. If I didn’t have dreads I would probably try the same style. It fits your face perfectly. Your face looks flawless. Do you use any makeup? Which one?

    Reply

    • Dear Tamara,

      Yes, I do wear make up. This was the first time I used Sephora’s magnifying compact powder. I love it’s shear coverage. What I don’t particularly care about it though is how mate and dry it is when you first put it on. For the first twenty minutes it has a zombie look. And then as your skin warms the powder up, it begins to look more natural and beautiful. Check it out and tell me what you think.

      Reply

  8. Posted by joey on September 14, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    I love the hair and makeup. You look good.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Erica on September 16, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Anu, your hair and your skin are FABULOUS! This hairstyle is just what I am looking for re: my 2 -3 inch TWA. Like Judy said, no extensions, no wigs, no drama! Question: is the nu fro just a straw set for shorter hair? How long would you suggest keeping the style before taking it out? Can you wash your hair with this style? Thanks in advance for any response to my inquiry.

    Reply

    • Hi Erica,
      I did try this style once starting out with the Straw Set and for me I preferred the way the Starter Locs holds this style. It’s a tighter curl than a Straw Set. Like I said all I do is add a little moisture with either Khamit Kinks Hair Oil or Anu’s Body Butter (yes I use it my hair too) and in the morning I lift the roots with an Afro Pick to even out the shape and that’s it. If you shampoo this style it will wash right out unless you’re grooming it to lock.

      Reply

  10. I love this style and it’s what I’ve been looking for. Unfortunately I live in NC and can’t get to your salon. What’s a southern girl to do? How can I acheive a similar style????

    Reply

    • Lyn,
      Take a quick trip to the most exciting town in the north east, Brooklyn, NY. Aside from that, find a Stylist that knows how to achieve the
      Starter Locs. That how this style was created.

      Reply

      • Thanks Anu! If I ever find myself in Brooklyn – I will find my way to your salon. Your styles are the best! BTW – that Tom Boy style is hot too!

        Reply

  11. WOW!!!! Your hair and skin is beautiful.
    Keep up the good work, can’t wait to start myself.

    Reply

  12. Posted by ola on October 1, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Anu I loooooooooovvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeee ur hair. I started Interlocs myself and they just don’t look right. The sections/size r ok but even after 5 mths, my roots r not dreaded and I need to look more professional!
    So I plan to take it out and cut my hair. I really want ur type of hairstyle but live in TX. Pls tell me what to do b4 I go Crazy…..LOL. would also appreciate ur advice on good hair products.

    Reply

    • Hi Ola,
      I’m assuming you’re referring to the Tom Boy style? Have you looked at this style on our website yet? It’s basically small braids, braided only an inch or so with the rest of the hair left loose. The hair used is the Baby Curl hair.

      Reply

      • Posted by Ola on October 2, 2009 at 4:28 pm

        Thats also nice but one I yearn for and love the most is A Nu Fro…………dats what I really want.
        Pls don’t forget to advice me on products to use cos right now, I’m taking down the interlocs and dont know what to do thereafter!

        Reply

  13. Posted by rhonda on October 14, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Hi Anu
    I love your new do!!!!!!!!! it is great need I say more. So what does it take to get this look, hair products &lenght, maintance etc??? Need to to know cause I can really see myself in this stlye please tell me

    Reply

  14. Posted by rhonda on October 14, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Hi Anu
    What type of Afro pick did you get for the A-Nu ‘fro.Please give all details to get your new Do so I can have my Stylist
    hook me at the end of the month. where can I get the compact powder make-up that you use. It looks so natural on you. As I have said before I live in Arizona so my skin will warm up real quick. I will be so thankful.The next time I get NY I will come by to check out your Salon.

    THXS RHONDA

    Reply

  15. Posted by Chelle on November 4, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    I love your hair. I’m rocking my own twa and I was kind of getting tired of it. This fro gives it a much needed change. And by the way, You are rocking it! Keep em’ coming.
    chelle

    Reply

  16. Posted by Cheryl on November 16, 2009 at 7:52 am

    Anu I just love all the looks you have rocked. I just cut off my locs last night. You were my inspiration It’s been a long time since I’ve been to your salon. I now live in Va but my goal is to come at least 3 times a year. I can’t wait to make my appointment. Khamit Kinks has been the only salon I’ve gone to for my natural hair. I have some of the body butter I did not know I could use it on my hair. Well do that and again thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply

  17. Posted by rhonda on February 1, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Hi Anu
    I’m looking for hair products for colored treated, natural hair. like conditioners,moisturizers, etc. My fro needs help
    in the moisturizering department.I’m trying real hard not go back to being a slave to the perm. I love my natural hair.

    HELP HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Rhonda

    Reply

  18. Posted by Janika on August 7, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Hi Anu. I am truely loving that fro! Wow. .. . . . .my mom and my two sisters are natural and they don’t know what to do or who to go to. We are in Raleigh North Carolina do you have in recomendations? Have you trained some people and sent them out to open other shops for you? I have not seen anything like that here. We might have to take a road trip. Especialy since my sister is getting married and she has starter locs. My other sister is so uncomfortable with her natural hair she where wigs everyday. She likes to look sassy but elegant. I really wish you were here to help them.

    Reply

    • Hi Janika,
      I love North Carolina and wish I were there to consult with your family. That would be fun. It might be just as much fun though for you guys to take a trip to the Big Apple. Please do visit us if you do make it here.

      Reply

  19. Posted by FLORENCE on October 29, 2010 at 11:27 am

    I loooove this hair style but I live in maryland, where can I have my hair done like that here???
    Please help me!

    Reply

    • Thank you Florence,
      I’m glad you like the A Nu ‘Fro style. It has become my signature style and I feel most like myself when I am wearing this style, which I am doing now. I don’t know anyone in your area that does this style. Have you tried Google for natural hair care providers in your area? You can always get a Bolt or Mega Bus to NY (so cheap). I went to DC recently and my ticket was less than $20.00 round trip. You know I have to try and convince you to take a trip to the Big Apple. Think about it. In the meantime, check natural hair directories on line and see if you can find someone local.

      Thanks again!

      Reply

Leave a comment