Go Ahead and Sweat!

Linda over 20 years ago

For many women, gone are the days of not working out because of a hairstyle.  Today’s savvy woman has a lifestyle that includes fabulous hair, along with the care of one’s health, by maintaining a regular exercise regime.

Linda with Locs

Unlike myself, my sister Linda has never really cared too much about hair.  I was aware that  Linda had recently become hooked on Bikram Yoga (yoga practiced in a room heated between 90-110 degrees).   Linda also has never been good at doing hair.  So when she had Locs for 10 years, that was her speed, care-free.  But after 10 years of Locs and for her 50th birthday, she decided it was time for a change.  She opted to go with the Big Chop and cut all her Locs off.  After her Big Chop, I tried to convince her to wear her hair short for a while.  But she wasn’t feeling that and allowed her hair to continue to grow out.

Linda after the Big Chop

Since my sister and I no longer live in the same city, I’m often checking in on her hair moves.  In January Linda informed me that because of Bikram yoga, she was not concerned with her hair and had been wearing wigs.  At the end of January we met up for a family wedding.  I’m here to tell you, when she took that wig off, I nearly fainted.  I said to her, “Linda, slavery is over.  We can get our hair done in these modern times.  We have money, time, and options”.  I convinced her to come to NY to get her hair done, post haste.

Linda’s neglect

Her first appointment coincided with one of our major snow-storms and she could not get a flight out.  The next week, the same thing happened.  I begin to think, is this going to be a fight between nature and my determination to get my sister’s hair done?  I hope not!  She finally made it here a few weeks ago.

Linda in Cherokee Braids

Months earlier my sister had come in for a Cherokee braid style.  That’s a large cornrow style that lasts three to four week.  Linda kept hers in for over eight weeks.  I knew this time we would have to do something that would be naturally, long lasting.  I came up with the idea of Micro Single Braids, using her own hair, no extensions.  This would be a care-free style that could easily been taken care of.  She could do her Bikram yoga, shampoo and condition her hair on her own and this style would not unravel and look like a hot mess.

Linda in Micro Single braids

The day finally arrived when Linda’s flight was able to make it to NY.  Many hours into having Micro Single braids done, Linda decided she would not be taking these braids out, ever.  She’s actually going to lock her hair from these braids.  When her new growth comes in, she will come in and have the interlocking process done on her new growth.

In this way, the Micro Single Braid are very much like Sister Locks, they stay in, are easy to care for, and are resilient.  I can rest assured that my sister is ‘representing’, these days.  I’m no longer worried that she’s hiding a hornets nest under a wig or scaring folks when she removes the wig.  She has a style that allows her variety and freedom.  Go ahead Linda, do your Bikram yoga and sweat all you like, now you’ve got a style that can take the heat and the moisture and still look great!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Linda Carter on February 24, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    Well, You were really honest to a fault on this one! I am loving the new freedom that I have with my new hair style. Thank you Khamit Kinks!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Karen on February 25, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    OMG….The many facets of Linda. I can relate Anu. I think we were the first to have braids with beads on the University of Miami campus, many moons ago. I love the new look too. I may have to get on a plane myself 🙂

    Reply

    • Hey Karen,
      You would definitely know the facets of Linda, how she can go from supper glam to ‘I don’t give a darn’. I would love to see you come in for a Khamit Kinks hair-do. Make it happen!

      Reply

  3. Posted by June Becco on March 3, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Linda, you are absolutely gorgeous. Anu, you did a wonderful thing helping out your sister. In our busy lifes we sometime neglect things and when we are fortunate enough to have loved ones step in and tug at our coat hem, and mean it enough to stay on us, that’s a blessing. Thank you for being a blessing.

    Reply

    • Thank you June. As you may have been able to read between the lines, I truly love this sister of mine. There’s nothing I wouldn’t do for her. Thank you for weighing in.

      Reply

  4. Posted by montgomery on March 3, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Great job Anu,

    You and your sister are absolutely gorgeous inside and out.

    As Ever
    Montgomery X

    Reply

  5. Posted by KHADIJAH BALTROP on March 27, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    I love the twenty year history of your sister and the love between the two of you which still continues. keep loving your sister and your family, happy birthday
    to my first born,
    Love mommy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

