Khamit Kinks on Nappturalite Radio Tonight 1/30/11

Tonight I will speaking on Nappturalite Blog Radio about silver hair.  Please tune in.  The details are below.  If you missed the show, you can listen to the archived program here.  And then click on the BlogTalkRadio icon.

Time
Sunday, January 30 · 6:00pm – 8:00pm

Location http://www.blogtalkradio.com/nappturalite


More Info The show is 2 hours, but tune in about 7:30 for my interview
I’ll be answering your questions.
Here’s the call-in number: (347) 637-3930 

“You may not have to worry about gray or silver hair now, but as the saying goes, “Baby, just keep living.” Our natural tresses need special TLC, but do you have to do a little bit extra for your natural silver crown? Join us as we interview Khamit Kinks salon founder, Anu Prestonia! Anu has over 30 years of experience in Black hair care, and she will share her knowledge on the best ways to care for gray and silver natural hair, and provide information on what natural coloring options are available.”

6 responses to this post.

  1. My Dear Sista’ Anu…
    Tonight’s nappturalite radio show was an enlightening and powerful example of what is possible when we come together with a common goal in mind. We got some much needed tips and points on silvering hair crowns.
    Of course I remember when we both had black hair. You had cut off your traditional locks for the 2nd or third time. We met in Brooklyn when Mandela, Kafele, Dianne, you and I were trying to form a nationwide network group.
    I have followed some of your many accomplishments and talked with Ademola Mandela.
    He has placed your name in nomination for the 2011 S.E.L.F. Image Award. Your meritorious work has not gone unnoticed. Not only your fabulous gifts for creative,spectacular hair but also your care, intropection and nurturing for women of color. I don’t think you have any idea of how many women were waiting with baited breath to listen to your wisdom and advice tonight on the show.
    I’d very much like to speak with you further regarding this important event that will honor you as one of four pioneers in the natural hair industry and join us in sharing a percentage of the proceeds with facilities that offer a safe haven, education and therapy to victims and families of domestic violence.
    Previous recipients were: Dr. JoAnne Cornwell, Dr. Ali-Sabree, Thando Kafele, Glynn Jackson, Shanti Walker, Pam Ferrell, Taliib Din Uqdah and A’Lelia Bundles.

    Marci Walker – Owner/Instructor M W Braids & Lockery
    Please call or e-mail me so that we can speak further.@301 505 5313

    Reply

    • Dear Marci,
      Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective with me. No, I had no idea that anyone was anticipating what I had to say. I am honored and feel so humbled by your acknowledgment and appreciation of my contribution to the natural hair care industry. I will reach out to you and please feel free to reach out to me via email – anu@khamitkinks.com or at the salon 718-422-2600.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Ann on January 30, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Anu,
    Do you offer the nappy snappy hair on tracks? My hair is very thin on the crown with some little bald spots (the hair is not going to grow back). I have natural hair with thickness in the back and sides. The Tomboy style will give my hair a natural appearance. I live in Ohio; therefore, I’m unable to visit your shop and I’m not sure whether I can find someone to weave the hair in without tracks.

    Reply

    • Dear Ann,
      We haven’t dealt with the Nappy Snappy on the weft because of how short it comes. But I can look into it for you and get back to you with the maximum length offered and we can go from there.

      Reply

  3. We truly enjoyed having you as a guest on our show! You gave some great information. Looking forward to having you back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

