Why Are You So Expensive?

I’ve often been asked (not to my face, but online) why we are ‘so expensive.’  What a nervy question!  Would someone dare ask this at Elizabeth Arden’s Red Door, Bliss Spa, Tiffany’s, Coach, Chanel, Dolce & Cabbana or any other high-profile business?  I think not.  But when it comes to our own, we believe we’re entitled to question prices, policies and the gamut.

I don’t mean to sound arrogant or indignant, but the nerve of some people never ceases to amaze me.  But the point is the fact that we all spend money on what we really want, what we feel is a priority.  It’s not about the size of your bank account, it’s truly about the size of your desire.  For example, I know of a woman who makes a NY school teacher’s salary and has traveled the world.  She doesn’t spend her money on entertainment, eating out, or adornment of any kind. She buys all her clothing from thrift shops and never gets her hair done, because her priority is traveling the world and that’s where all her dispensable cash goes.   That’s her desire, her priority and so she makes that happen.

So, more often than not, especially in our communities, it’s a matter of preference and priority, not affordability.  Because studies show we spend disproportionately more than any other group of people in the nation—probably in the world—on everything that we think is hot.  We buy what we want.  I can’t begin to tell you the designer labels that have become super rich on the money spent by those same people who question our prices here at Khamit Kinks.

I have met women who say they’ve never been to Khamit Kinks because we’re so expensive.  When I question them, many admit that they have never been to our salon or visited the website.  In other words, they have no idea what our prices are and have made assumptions based on our public persona.

The truth of the matter is that we actually have styles to fit every budget.  The question: is the style that fits your budget the style you prefer? It really does come down to a matter of preference or priority.  So I say we are not expensive.  We charge a fair price for the quality of work and service that our salon offers.   Remember, it’s not price, it’s preference, and If you can’t always get your dream style, know that at Khamit Kinks you’ll get an expert style and lots of compliments!

16 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you!!!!! My salon can relate!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Miss Dee on August 31, 2010 at 11:59 am

    I get that response from people as well when I tell them I’ve gone to Khamit Kinks for a particular hairstyle. Honestly, the prices made me apprehensive to visit the salon at first. But I’m so glad I did! Bottom line is, You Get What You Pay For. You’re not simply paying for a carbon copy of a style at Khamit Kinks. You’re paying for the style you want, customized to fit you. You’re paying for the expertise of a qualified beautician who will give you the proper recommendations for YOUR hair. I’ve been to too many places where people will pull you off the street to do your hair, give you a “good” price, and leave you with a tight style that leaves you with a headache and praying that your edges will still be there by the time you remove the style.

    I tell everyone about the salon and encourage them to visit.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Harold on August 31, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    I’m feeling you Sister Anu. You’ve got Ice Milk and then you have Gelato, but don’t equate the two.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Venita on August 31, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    WOW…I never thought of it that way. When I find ways to cut costs, my hair usually pays the price. I love your website and bought your babycurl hair a couple of times, but I feel so guilty when I spend so much money on a hairstyle. I have to begin rethinking my priorities and probably let go of some of those things that tend to nickel and dime my pocket book.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Trish on August 31, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    I watch my dollars and cents like a hawk, but know that I get my hair done at KK because good hair care is a priority for me and my daughter! We will take full advantage of the rewards program as well as the back to school coupon – both are great ideas and very much appreciated!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Karyn on August 31, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    Anu, thanks so much for articulating your position!!
    I always receive complements about my hairstyle(s), followed by rebuke and scorn when I tell them about the salon. I’m one of those who went to other salons when I “couldn’t afford” Khamit Kinks…trust me, I paid a terrible price! I experienced “braiders” who knew nothing about appropriate and flattering styles for clients, and even less about proper braiding techniques and care for natural hair. As said earlier, you get EXACTLY what you pay for: since my hair is top priority, I want a superior stylist…and I’m willing to pay for it!

    All this to say, I’m a Khamit Kinks client for life!

    Reply

    • Thank you Karyn, for your response. And it is true, in this culture, you do get what you pay for. We sincerely appreciate the clients who ‘get it’! Thank you for your continued support and patronage.

      Reply

  7. Posted by Melissa on September 7, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    I have never been to KK, but you come very highly recommended. As to the issue of cost, I can say that stylist here in Tennessee are charging MORE than you guys charge without the skill. Which is why I have made the choice to do my own hair, because honestly if I want an amateur job I can get that without paying for it! I am praying for the day that my schedule will allow me to visit KK when I am in NYC.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Maxine on September 15, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Anu, I love my hair. I was there last Thursday and my stylist did this to PERFECTION. I just wanted to share that I am very, very happy with my style. I am wearing a wet n wavy, just off the shoulder weave with a side part. It is covered with invisible braids. I can’t pass a mirror without saying, Wow!

    Why do I go to Khamit Kinks and spend “all that money”. 1. The staff is the nicest group of people anywhere. They are pleasant, helpful and just deep inside, nice people. 2. When my appt is for 10 AM or 1 PM, that is the time I am in the chair and my style being done. 3. If I want a glass of water or a cup of tea, they stylist will help you with it. 4. It is a quiet tranquil environment and there is no constant yacking about senseless topics such as bashing men. 5. The other clients are so classy that you feel that you are treating yourself when you are there. 6. Last and by no means least. I AM WORTH IT!!!

    Reply

    • Thank you Maxine! We are so happy that you are pleased with our services and the environment at Khamit Kinks. We love our clients and I have a particular love and appreciation for black women. I think they should be treated like the queens that they are and we aim to do just that. Thank you again!

      Reply

  9. Thank you for saying this. When I hear some say oh it’s too expensive I say no it’s not too expense it just not in your price range that you are willing to spend. I get this also when I quote a price. But it is what you value and what is really important to you.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Sony on May 26, 2011 at 10:38 am

    You provide quality service BUT…I still think you guys are too expensive. Have a nice day

    Reply

  11. Posted by soyini on June 7, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Your shop sounds wonderful and I wish there was one near me.

    I don’t mind paying for excellence. I have paid a lot in salons where, even though the stylists are black, and even though it is supposed to be a natural salon, they do not know how to care for nappy hair. They tangle it up during the shampoo, they don’t moisterize it, they try to comb it with a small tooth comb from the root, they try to braid it too tight. Then, when I complain that they are too rough and pulling my hair out, they say, “oh, are you tender headed?”

    Reply

    • Those are people just there to make money. They don’t care about your hair and likewise, you shouldn’t care to go there and have them ruin your hair.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

