The New Natural

Crinkled Mohawk w/ Designer Cut

When Freelance journalist, author, and friend, Julia Chance, interviewed me for Heart & Soul Magazine, we had so much fun discussing the topic of ‘The New Natural’ that we made a date to try out some products.   When that day came, we had a blast, as we went through her arsenal of products, testing just how much curl we could achieve from the use of these ever popular, new, natural products.   As a Freelance beauty writer, Julia,  is constantly receiving products to test.  Our hair-play date, inspired me to write this post and to host an event, Natural Curls & Caipirinhas, to help you achieve your ‘curl’.  Yes, kinky hair can curl without the use of harsh chemicals.

A Little History:

Back in the day, the traditional Afro was often referred to as a ‘Natural’.   In those days, all you needed were regular trips to the barber, an Afro-pick, some Afro Sheen and you were good to go.  And everyone’s ‘fro looked sort of similar, very sharp and symmetrical.  The thing that differentiated your ‘fro from someone else’s usually came down to one thing, and that was, size.  Is my ‘fro bigger than yours???  It took me years to figure out that those with the big Afros had a longer curl-pattern.

Today’s “New Natural’ is a whole different scene.  Most sisters don’t refer to their ‘freedom style’ as an Afro, it’s just natural.  But as we well know, there’s more to ‘the natural’ than meets the eye.  Today’s savvy hair fashionista is looking for a little more uniqueness than the original traditional ‘fro offered.  She’s using all kinds of products and attempting a variety of twist-out styles, looking to see what the results will be.  Her hair is freer; she doesn’t necessarily have a standing appointment with a barber, or even a stylist, for that matter.  She’s doing it on her own, but is she getting the results she really desires?

Golden Flat Twist-Out

There are any number of products on the market that make the claim of defining the curl in your hair.  There are some small boutique-type, natural and organic products that garner great results.  And now the big boys are trying to jump on the curl-defining bandwagon.  Depending on your hair texture, some products will define the curl in a very obvious way or your hair type won’t require any products to curl because it’s naturally curly.  This usually happens with hair textures that have a naturally loose curl-pattern (think Mixed Chicks, Miss Jessie’s).

Chubby Twist-Out

But if you don’t have a loose curl pattern, if your hair is kinky, you may need to put a little more effort into achieving a really defined curl.  You could burn a hole in your pocketbook trying out the range of products out there. Or you could attend the Khamit Kinks New Natural event, Natural Curls & Caipirinhas where we will assess your hair, it’s health and texture, and determine which products will best fit your hair and give you the best-defined curl you’ve ever had.

Check out this lovely transformation:

Before

AfterKinky Twist-Out

So join us for Natural Curls & Caipirinhas for your very own special

Khamit Kinks

New Natural

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Hatshepsut on July 9, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Nice!

    Remember when we all tried to get our afro as perfect as possible? My technique was pull it out as far as it could go with a fist pick, then lay a silk scarf over it and pat it VERY lightly. then I’d push back the front of it against my hairline with some barrettes. I think i had my first kiss in that hairstyle! And let’s not forget Afro Puffs! I still rock a similar style to that to this day, and my husband loves it!

    Thanks for the Nostalgia

    Don Cornelius said: Afro-sheen, Ultra-sheen, and Ultra-sheen cosmetics!

    Reply

    • Now you done brought tears to my eyes, taking me back. My Afro days were during the height of The Jackson Five era and I wanted an Afro like theirs. Here’s what I did… I used to braid my hair in large plaits at night. Then I would put water and Nu-Nile on the tips of the plaits and roll then roll the plaits up on sponge rollers. And you couldn’t tell me my ‘fro wasn’t fly! We were working it out!

      Reply

  2. Posted by SHELIA on July 16, 2010 at 2:55 am

    HI ANU, MY NAME IS SHELIA FIRST TIME RESPONDING LOVE YOUR BLOG AND THE BEAUTIFUL HAIRSTYLES THAT ARE DISPLAYED I MISSED THE ERA OF AFROS BECAUSE I WAS BORN IN 1975 SO MY MOM HAD THE PRIVLEDGE OF ROCKIN ONE BUT AS A ADULT I LIKE TOO ALSO IVE BEEN TRANSITIONING FOR 5 MONTH ON MY OWN AND WOULD LIKE TO COME TO KHAMIT KINKS IVE SEEN A PHOTO CALLED GOLDEN FLAT TWIST OUT UNDER NEW NATURAL BLOG WHICH IS ABSLOUTLELY BEAUTIFUL DO YOU DO THIS HAIRSTYLE AND USING MY OWN HAIR HOW MUCH WOULD THIS SERVICE BE? IS COLOR AND CUT INCLUDED? WHAT A BEAUTIFUL HAIRSTYLE!!! THANX SO MUCH HOPE TO HEAR FROM YOU SOON SHELIA

    Reply

    • Dear Sheila,
      Thank you for the compliment and welcome to the wonderful world of natural hair. Wow, 1975 is the year I graduated from high school… The Golden Flat Twist is a picture of Khamit Kink’s work, so yes we offer this style. The link above takes you to the page giving the description and the cost. Also here is a link to our http://khamitkinks.com/prices.html. Color and cut are separate services and are an additional cost. The cost of color varies depending on a number of variables like how many steps we have to take to achieve your desired color. Some times for the health of your hair, the color you want may have to be achieved in stages over a period of time. It just depends. We look forward to serving you and hope to see you soon.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Kristian on July 16, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Hi Anu,

    Thanks for reminding us of our sweet and dynamic history!

    I have a question. Over the past few months that I have been reading your blog, I’ve noticed that all of the women in your photos are made up flawlessly. Are they all using a special makeup, or something that you have formulated? I’m asking because I am being married in September and the affair is being filmed, and I need something for myself so that I will look as good as humanly possible! Please advise….

    Kind regards,

    Kristian Alexis Perry

    Reply

  4. Hi Kristian,
    Congratulations on your upcoming wedding. May you have a long and fruitful marriage.

    Many of the photos I use are professionally taken. Which means, we hire a make up artist. Aside from that, most public pictures are altered (air-brushed) for that flawless look. I would recommend hiring a make up artist for your special day. There are even make up artist who specialize in wedding looks. I would also recommend having your face made up by potential make-up artist long before the big day so you can determine whose work you like best. Wedding make up should be light and fresh unless of course you’re having an evening wedding. Then you can go heavier.

    Depending on the time of your wedding you could even book to have your make up done by a professional at MAC.

    All the best to you and let me know how it goes.

    Congrats again!
    ~Anu

    Reply

  5. I enjoy reading these articles, but I wanted to say that I’m not so sure that we should refer to this as the New Natural. While I have only been natural for just over five years, a number of women have been wearing their hair in its natural state for some time. Chris Rock’s movie may have just made this issue resurface a bit. I had a few laughs from the movie, but it didn’t give a balanced view of women also wearing their hair natural. I was disappointed that his wife did not make an appearance until I missed her (getting a drink during the first few minutes:)

    Reply

    • Dear Petronella,
      I do feel that the way women are dealing with their natural hair today is quite different and therefore new. It may not be new to you, but it’s new to many others. This is the first time in our history that we are spending an inordinate amounts of money on products in order to achieve a natural curl. There are even sisters out there who proudly refer to themselves as ‘product whores’! This is the first time that many companies are offering natural and organic products that are not harmful to us in order to assist us in achieving a longer curl pattern naturally. And this really has nothing to do with Chris Rock’s movie because he did not address the matter of natural hair in his film. So that is why I refer to it as The New Natural.

      Reply

  6. Hi Anu, I found this website while researching natural hairstyles. I tried to go natural for about 8 months but I wore braids the entire time. When I took the braids out, I didn’t know what to do with my hair so I am sad to say that I relaxed it. I am ready to try to go natural for good this time. I have really soft hair and it is thin, regular perms are too strong for my hair and it damages my hair this is the reason I am really considering going natural. So my question to you do you think b/c of my hair type (soft and thin) would I be a good candidate for going natural. I think I am going to wear braids for maybe 6-9 months and then cut the relaxed hair.

    Reply

    • Dear Tezra,
      I’ve heard this story many times before from many others. Until one has had a true change of heart and a true appreciation and understanding about the beauty of their natural hair, the tendency to go back to chemically processing, is a natural tendency of giving in to what’s familiar.

      I sincerely believe that going natural is especially the right thing to do if your hair is naturally soft and thin. Chemicals will only make the hair even thinner over time. You could strength your hair and have it at least appear thicker, when it is in its natural state. The first thing I thought of when you mentioned your hair being soft and thin, is a short cut. I’m not sure if you’re ready for such, but in the meantime, it would be good to send me a picture of your hair so I can confirm that we are on the same page. Send the pictures to anu@khamitkinks.com

      Reply

  7. This is great someone told me of your site
    at thirsty roots. you should hve them put u in directory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

