Natural Curls and Caipirinhas

You’re Invited!

Join us  for

Natural Curls annd Caipirinhas

And get your natural curl on!!!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kisha on July 9, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    I recently purchased some baby curl hair to to the baby curl twists style. I ordered 6 oz. I wanted to know if you thought this was a sufficent amount to achieve a medium length style. I live in California and have a lady that has been twisting my hair for a couple of years. I also wanted to know what I need to do to maintain this hair style for about 12 weeks? I am transitioning to natural hair. My last relaxer was the end of May 2010.
    My hair style is a medium bob length. Will my relaxed hair blend in with the twisted extensions or will it stick out?

    Reply

    • Dear Kisha,
      Depending on the texture of your hair and the amount of new growth will determine whether or not your Baby Curl Twists will hold. We typically don’t do Baby Curl unless the client has at least two inches of natural hair. Otherwise the Baby Curl could slip out. Six ounces is more than enough and yes, the ends if straight may stick out from the Baby Curl hair. That hair can be trimmed.

      All the best.

      Reply

  2. Hi Anu,

    I am writing to say how I love your site and styles. My big question that I am a natural beauty with at least 5-6 inches of 4A/B hair. I am graduating from college and I am trying to find some good options for styling my hair without damaging it. I thought about doing cornrows with extensions and pulling up into a bun but I wanted to ask an experienced professional (I haven’t been licensed for long to know what to do with my own kinks). Unfortunately, I am in FL so any help would be great to know. Thanks for your help and have a blessed one.

    Cynthia

    Reply

    • Dear Cynthia,
      Congratulations on your big accomplishment! Cornrows can be styled in such sophisticated ways, like with our Essence Bun (medium/small cornrows) or Cherokee Up Sweep. The problem is many Stylist braid too tight around the hairline or put to much bulk (extensions) at the hairline. So you just want to be careful, that your Stylist does not braid in that fashion. Other than that, I think cornrows into a bun for your graduation is an excellent choice.

      Reply

  3. […] Sexy Hair Questionnaire « Natural Curls and Caipirinhas […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by Janika on October 11, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Hi Anu. My mom did a blow out on her natural for my sister’s wedding. When she washed it some of it stayed straight. What can she? We are in North Carolina so coming to see you right now is not the answer as much as I would like to. Please give me a suggestion.

    Reply

    • Dear Janika,
      This is a common occurrence that thermal heat will alter the texture of the hair. One thing your mom can do is wait it out. She could also try doing a deep conditioning by saturating her hair with conditioner and then covering her head with a shower cap for at least 20-30 minutes, to see if the hair will curl back to its natural state. The only other option is to cut her hair just beyond the straightened areas.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Pat Tuthill on January 26, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Hi Anu,I recently went to this salon on recommenation. I was quite pleased with the warm reception, great atmosphere, and wonderful service. To say the lest, I loved my style, this will be my new home.Your staff is the greatest. Pat

    Reply

Leave a Reply

