My Sister Locks Journey

After my second set of ‘regular’ Locs, I thought I’d never lock my hair again.  I thought I was totally done with the Locs thing.  But you know it’s a woman’s prerogative to change her mind, and so after a few years had passed, I changed my mind and decided I wanted to lock again. I decided that for my third set of Locs I would try Sister Locks.

I was surprisingly delighted at the look of my new Sister Locks.  They were kind of wiry, wily, and funky because the hair isn’t really locked at that point.  So the the kinetic energy is a reflection of your own texture manifesting itself through this ‘crocheted’ formation.  That was a fun stage and I loved it.   Sister Locks (a.k.a. SL) at that short stage has a type of energy and shape that doesn’t really require any styling.  It just falls in place like any other short hair cut.  I enjoyed this stage very much, with the exception of having to braid my SL for each shampoo.  Other than that, it was a breeze to care for.

2003

Two years later my Sister Locks had developed, grew longer and were more defined – locked.  I decided to add some color to the tips of my SL at this point and I loved how this quirky colored changed the entire look of my hair.  I would often see folks staring at my SL and wondered why.  I would soon remember it was the turquoise color tips of my SL that had entranced them.  Now those bright ‘punk’ colors can be seen everyday (in NYC).

2005

Sister Locks are great for working out.  If I worked up a sweat, no problem because unlike classic Locs, SL don’t unravel at the roots when exposed to moisture or wetness.  SL worked well with my yoga practice as well.  I would just pull it up into a ponytail.  I finally had enough length for a real ponytail.  Yeaah!

2005

Going to a special occasion and need to look your formal best?  Well, Sister Locks will take you there in grand style.  On this special occasion, to achieve this look, I simple had a my SL set on rods and then pinned up.

2006

In this photo I did a high/low look of making rolls out of the front of my hair and then pinning up the rolls in the front and having the back hang down over one shoulder.

2008

Then there came a point at which I felt my SL were getting too long for me and I decided to have them cut in a bob style.  Once my SL were cut, the blue tip landed on the floor.  My Stylist had to lighten the tips of my newly cut style to reapply the turquoise color; and it was at that point that I decided to give the turquoise color a rest and instead I rocked the blond tips.  I loved having this bob cut with blond tips style with my Sister Locks.  It made me feel young and carefree…

2008

So that was about the long and short of it, of my Sister Locks journey.  My hair was growing out of a cut when I first began my Sister Locks so they were short  to begin with.  Though you can also start with long hair just as well.  My Sister Locks quickly grew longer and longer and finally when they were nearly breast length,  I cut them shorter and wore them in a bob.  I wore my SL curled, crimped, straight down, pinned up for evenings out and all sorts of ways that aren’t shown here.  And these are just a few of the many options with Sister Locks.

Just a few SL as side bang, after big chop

Wearing SL was a fun journey and though I’ve cut them all off now, I’m almost certain, I will lock my hair again, and when I do, it will have to have Sister Locks for that next locking journey.

Click here for more info on Sister Locks at Khamit Kinks.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ShirleyWitcherMcLean on May 1, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    I never had sister locks. How many hours does it take;price

    Reply

    • Dear Shirley,
      There are several variables that determine how long the initial Sister Locks process can take. It can depend on the length, texture and thickness of your hair, how small you want your SL or how small your hair can be done. It also depends on whether or not you have one or two SL technicians doing your hair at once. But in general at Khamit Kinks, it takes two of our Stylist working together approximately eight to ten hours. If one Stylist does your hair, it can take up to 16 hours or more. In terms of prices, click here for those details.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

