Anu’s Retrospective

Last June, 2008 was the 30th anniversary of my entry into the then, non-existent Natural Hair Care industry.  I decided to document some of the many styles I’ve worn over the years and to pay homage to my favorite Hairstylist in the world.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by donna on October 17, 2009 at 8:43 am

    I would love to hear your story, how you made the decision to cut off your perm during that time.

    Reply

  2. Amazing to see all your variations, Anu! I’m loving the Tom Boy but want to get my own natural hair to maintain that volume. Do you think that’s possible?

    Reply

    • Dear T. Lynn,

      I always say that you would have to have a tremendous amount of hair to achieve the same volume as a head full of extensions. But I don’t want to discourage you. Go for it and see how it works. It might not look exactly like what you’re going, after but you might like it just the same. Let me know how it works out.

      Reply

      • Posted by Dawn on October 26, 2009 at 7:55 pm

        Hi Anu,

        I’m really interested in getting my hair done in the baby curls extensions and/or freeze braids. My hair is natural. How long does my hair need to be in order to get this type of style?

        Reply

        • Dear Dawn,

          For any extension style an inch and a half is the minimum length your hair should be. However, in terms of the Tom Boy or Freeze braids, your own hair should be no longer than 2 to 3 inches. For the regular Baby Curl Twist you hair can be as long as shoulder length without any additional cost.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

