Natural Hair and The Green Movement

Lurie2

The trend towards natural hair began originally in the ‘60s with the advent of the Afro and then died down, only to return in earnest during the late ‘70s, around the time that I entered the budding natural hair-care industry. Many of us were captivated and loving our natural selves! As in the ‘60s, the decision made by Black women to wear their hair natural did not happen in a vacuum.  This choice to go “counter-culture,” unsupported by mainstream media, is a bold and brave one that speaks to a change in consciousness.

What I’ve observed, not only in myself, but also in countless clients and others, is that “going natural” can include, changing one’s diet to a more wholesome eating experience. It can include being drawn to seeking out a spiritual path, including meditation, prayer, yoga and self-reflection and exploration.

When your consciousness opens, your awareness changes and expands.  You begin to notice realities you may have taken for granted, or of which you were unaware. Something as simple as the effects of littering, for example, will appear on your radar, maybe for the first time. You’ll take better notice of your surroundings, your interactions with others, your own mind-chatter… the list of things that will become more present to you is endless.

It’s been long said and documented that we are a microcosm of the Universe; it’s easy to see (if we’re looking) how that occurs in our consciousness, is reflected in our world. Making the move to natural hair effortlessly lends itself to the blossoming of the Green Movement.  When you respect yourself and seek your authenticity, you’ll look for it in both your immediate world and in the world at large.  You’ll recognize that everything you do has an effect not only on you, but also on the planet.  This includes what you think about your hair and what you do with it.  After you stop putting chemicals in your hair and doing unnatural things with it, you may not want to continue to eat unnatural foods.

There is a bubbling up from deep inside that can no longer bury the truth ― our hair is beautiful, just the way God made it.  It doesn’t have to be altered for its beauty to come forth.  The same is true for the home that God provided. If we disrespect the planet, we disrespect ourselves and we’ll suffer the consequences, whether or not we are aware of the action or reaction.

Therefore natural hair and the green movement go hand-in-hand.  Wearing your hair natural means you are not contributing to the rinsing of harsh chemicals into our water supply.  It means that you are in a place of love, acceptance, appreciation, and honor for your hair, your body, your mind and the planet.  We all have heard the old adage: “What goes around comes around.”  If we continue to disrespect ourselves and the planet, only fear and sadness will result.

As soon as we decide to love and respect the planet and ourselves we can look forward to more love, peace, and glory, including the crowning kind. Going natural? I highly recommend it!

This article was commissioned for Our Time Press newspaper and appeared in the June 11th 2009 edition.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Altheia Wisdom on July 20, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Love your comment. I am now out of chemical for about 10 years and love it. I just find if time consuming to twist it my self and nether me nor my husband like the sister locks. Any hints on east styles other than afro puffs?
    Thanks, Altheia
    P.s how can I print your comments, I would love to share it

    Reply

    • Posted by Anu Prestonia on July 22, 2009 at 3:27 am

      Dear Altheia,
      I’m not sure which comment you’re referring to. But copy and paste it. That should work.
      Now regarding your hair, there are so many options when it comes to our hair, we just haven’t been trained on how to style and play with our natural hair. If you had your hair twisted professionally, it should last you three months and you wouldn’t have to worry about spending a lot of time on it. What do you mean when you say “east styles”?

      Right now I’m wearing my own hair in a style that’s ever evolving. It started our as a straw-set. But because my hair is fine (naturally thin) it looked to spacey for me. So I lifted the roots with an afro pick. Now it looks like I have an afro with coils on the ends of it… I’m just playing with it and having fun. BTW, and I’m receiving a lot of positive feedback.

      Reply

  2. Posted by sxm1985 on October 1, 2009 at 5:40 am

    This is very true, I started to go natural a year ago, now that I rocking stylish cornrow each month.

    I am starting to eat live food or raw food slowly. I give myself a year, but I can see the benefits already by loosing weight.

    I read Queen Afua books for health and Longevity, very inspiring on how our being needs cleansing from all these drugs foods we put in our body which slowly kills us.

    I think it depends on each one development but it is something to look forward, all this green stuff did not appeal to me at first, now it makes sense, really does.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Maati on February 17, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Hello Anu. I really like the “Tomboy” hairstyle that you wore. In one of your postings you stated you had some weave in the top of your head to keep the style standing. Is the weave necessary in order to get the style to stand and remain standing? I purchased the hair from Khamit Kinks but I live in North Carolina and will have my stylist do the style for me. I gave her the picture of you wearing the Tomboy hairstyle. But I am trying to see if there is anything else I need other than the hair itself to re-create this style? Your help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

    Reply

    • Hi Maati,
      The weave in the top of my head is something I did after getting the Tom Boy several times. So no, it isn’t necessary to have it. My hair is kind of fine and soft, so once the new growth came in, I found that the braids would flop a bit and the weave in the top delayed that happening. Thicker or courser hair probably would not flop as much. Also, I pinned the front of my hair back so that it wouldn’t come down towards my face.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

