Cherokee: As an Interim Style

picture-151-copy-anu

Since the beginning of the year I had been rocking the Tom Boy style and loving it.  But it was indeed time for it to be done over and my appointment was weeks away.  My Manager tried to convince to just deal with it.  But I just couldn’t.  You see I had a partial weave looping at the top of my head to keep the Tom Boy vertical, standing up.  And it had begun to feel like a  muskrat on my head.  In addition to that, because the hair at the nape of my neck is soft, and my new growth had grown out about half an inch, each time I touch my hair, another braid would slide out of my head.  That  is not how I like to roll, so something had to be done in the meantime.  I was really torn because I was really enjoying the Tom Boy.  It’s basically care free, with the exception of finger combing and shaping it after waking it the morning.  Plus,  it really looks like it’s  your own hair and I was receiving tons of compliments on it.  Who wouldn’t want to keep something like that going?

However, I finally decided I would try the Cherokee cornrow style in the interim.  I hadn’t had the Cherokee in about seven years; since before my Sister Locks.  And I must admit, I was concerned that perhaps I was past the age for having a style as “revealing” as the Cherokee.  But considering the response I’ve received, I guess attitude/perspective is more a factor than age.

The Cherokee does offers  a temporary face lift, as most cornrows styles do; and that was right on.  In addition to that,  it’s more care free than even the Tom Boy.  I didn’t have to finger comb it or fluff it into shape; just get up and go.   As this style gets older it has grown on me and I was  even considering getting the Cherokee a second time, especially when those 90 degree days came around.  I mean, we’ve been freezing all spring and then all of a sudden it was just about 90 degrees, three days in a row.  I was happy to have the Cherokee on those days.  It was light and airy and made my head feel cool.

But alas, my appointment for the Tom Boy is “soon come”, and I’m looking forward to that funky ‘fro style.   But just so you know, in a pinch the Cherokee is a great treat and you could get use to it real fast.  Thanks Awa, for an awesome style.

4 responses to this post.

  1. You definitely know how to attract several people to your site I loved reading the site and the comments. What has inspired you to set up your blog and where do you get all your content from?

    Reply

    • Dear Denyse,
      Thank you! What inspired me to set up a blog is my love of educating those who are interested in the beauty in and maintenance of natural hair. In terms of where I get my content, it comes from 32 years of being in the natural hair care business. Long before I incorporated the name Khamit Kinks, I was growing the hair of others through natural hair styling. Thank you for your interest.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Sherell Webb on January 27, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Hello Anu,
    You may not remember me, but I’m one of the chosen few who have been blessed to get one on one training by either you or Ruth Sinclair. About 23 years ago you had a satellite salon in Miami Florida run by Ruth Sinclair. My mom assisted her a lot in getting set up and brought me from Atlanta to Miami to intern under Her. Ruth was a great instructor and i also had the pleasure to learn your techniques at an early age. I have been quite the Stylist in Atlanta and have had and still have the opportunity to style various celebrities in this area. My salon is currently in the Vinings area in Atlanta. I want to carry your natural haircare line and continue my affiliation with you. Please contact me at 404-454-5649 i will also call the salon. My mom is Dr. Eva Harden from Miami. Because of you i have never had to go hungry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

