Tom Boy

anu1

As many of you know, back in September I cut off my Sister Locks and began a new journey of trying out as many Khamit Kinks styles as I can before I do my Sister Locks all over again. But for now, I can finally wear all the styles I use to oooh and ahhh about as they were being created right before my eyes at Khamit Kinks.  After I cut off my Sister Locks, I wore a short hair cut. That lasted only a few weeks before I was ready to move on. I then had to have the famed and now classic, Baby Curl Twist.  But because my own hair was so short, the braids quickly started sliding out. The slippage was primarily at the nape of my neck, so I didn’t panic. But after my first shampoo, it was a wrap. In other words, the Baby Curl Twist is best kept in if you have at least three inches of your own hair. A couple of months later (and my hair a few inches longer) I now sport the Tom Boy.

Can I tell you? I absolutely love this style! It’s so carefree and easy. When I get up in the morning, I shape it by finger picking it and off I go. I also love because it’s funky, edgy and so hip. Watch out world!

So what exactly is the Tom Boy. Well actually, it’s single braids created by using the Baby Curl hair (though other hair textures can be used). The Baby Curl is cut with the top a bit longer than the sides and back. And then you just rock it. The interesting part is most people think it’s my own hair. This includes those who are meeting me for the first time even those who know my hair couldn’t have grown that fast. I have to actually pull my hair back and show them that it’s braided.  It’s the best! So call us for you Tom Boy today!!! 718.422.2600.

38 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by MECCA on March 3, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    I believe I was sitting next to you when you got your hair done.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ayanna on March 3, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    This is a REALLY BEAUTIFUL look on you. The energy just pours off of you even in the photo which is fairly unusual. Great change!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Normel on March 5, 2009 at 7:20 am

    This style is indeed incredible on you. When I saw it, I said to myself, I have to get it, but I hope I can pull it off as well as you. I have been searching high and low for something new to do to my hair in addition to cutting it. Can this style be achieved with my own hair?

    Reply

    • Dear Normel,

      First let me say, Thank you for the compliment. Your hair can be cut into this shape and set on rods to achieve the texture. But honestly, I don’t think one’s own hair can ever have the same look as a style with extensions. It can look similar, but rarely does it ever have the same amount of volume. I would recommend that you come in for a consultation and we can determine how best to help you achieve this look.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Cheryl on March 10, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    This style looks fabulous. I would love to wear that style. I read the other blogs and I just cut my locs and I put some red tone highlights but now after seeing your hair and reading about cutting locs. I’m thinking about cutting them off and do something different. But I want to come to NY and come to you guys. Enjoy your new look.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Cynthia on March 17, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Anu,
    i just ordered my babycurl hair and I am excited. My hair is not that long, so I hope that I dont have that much slippage, but that is okay, I will just have them put back in as my own hair grows. I am so glad that you have a website and salon that empowers black woman. Thanks

    Reply

  6. Posted by Amie on April 3, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Your hair looks great! How long is your natural hair? And can you reuse the baby curl hair or do you have to purchase new hair for each new style?

    Is the baby curl hair from Korea?

    Reply

  7. Posted by amsalah on April 21, 2009 at 12:19 am

    I always thought the only style for me was similar to Alec Weks, but now, I want the Tom Boy. It looks fantastic on you!

    Reply

  8. Thank you Amsalah! Come on down and let us put the Tom Boy on you.

    Reply

  9. i love the Tom Boy style. this is just what i would like to acheive with my hair. i’m in transition and in a pickle. i’m chemical free. don’t want anymore glued or sewed in weave. where can i find this type of hair used to create this beautiful style? and how much do i purchas?

    Reply

  10. Posted by rhonda on June 10, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Hi Anu
    I truly love your new hair style.It is the style i want for my self problem I live in Arizona. I have been natural for about 3yrs. If I could get on a plane and come to you shop I would.My sister has a salon in Tucson and I will be making an appointment to get this stlye.I need to know what it takes to get this done.Girl your hair is beautiful looking I just luv it& have to have it please tell me what it takes do this. My hair is alittle straight on then ends from a texturizer
    and is about 3″ long when blow dryed.

    Reply

    • Thank you Rhonda,

      Yes, this is a hot style because this is the third time I’ve had it done in a row and the compliments keep coming. You can begin by ordering the hair required to achieve this style. In terms of how to execute this style, your stylist would need to either take one of our seminar classes or I could offer her a phone consultation. She can contact me regarding this. 718-422-2600.

      Reply

  11. Posted by rhonda on June 10, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    What is the required hair ,how much will I need,I do not want it to be no more 3″ longer than my own hair. I have really thick coarse tinted hair with some texturizeron the ends ,will i need to cut the straight ens off before I can have this look.I’m real excited about this hot new style.As said before my sister has a salon in Tucson Az. & there are some stylist that do braids&twist

    Reply

  12. Dear Rhonda,

    Your own should not be more than 3 inches long in order to get the Tom Boy. All the details about how much hair you need for a style will pop up when you click on the image. Here’s the link
    http://www.khamitkinks.com/tomboy2.html

    You don’t necessarily need to cut the ends off, but your hair needs to be short because the braids needed to be braided past your own hair. If your hair is long then you’ll have more braided hair than loose hair.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Theresa on August 8, 2009 at 12:25 am

    I have been searching for the right hair style for years. I feel like my hair has gone through a war zone, from perms and some length to breakage, braids and breakage to afro but without a shape to frame it. I read about your salon in Essence and I wondered if your stylists could help me achieve a look that is favorable for me, beautiful for me, like I feel inside and I saw a few styles that I like.

    My hair is fine, curly and grows so slowly. Braids make it break and fall off and it’s easy to lock.

    Reply

  14. Posted by jackie on October 13, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    This hair style is so beautiful on You!
    I must have this hair style for my self…soon—smile

    Reply

  15. Posted by Vickey on November 13, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Hi, your hair is simply beautiful !!!

    I live in Florida and I would like to know if this style can be achieved like the 2 strand twist or can this style be done by braiding my natural hair down and then crochet hair on and knot? Could either of these technique’s work to alleviate cutting my own hair?

    You are a great inspiration for all women of color!!! Not just our hair, but also our skin and teeth….simply wonderful.

    God Bless

    Vickey

    Reply

    • Thank you Vickey,

      You may try these techniques but I doubt if you will have the same smooth look. I know it’s a difficult decision, but just know if you cut your hiar, it will grow back. I definitely think having the opportunity to wear the Tom Boy is worth the big chop. However, no one can make that decision for you but you. Let me know what you decide.

      Reply

  16. Posted by rhonda on November 16, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Hi Anu
    I love your ANU FRO what steps have to be done to get this look and what stype afro pick do you use. Also do you wrap or put on satin cap at night. You have done a great job you look great. What type of make-up do you use & what color.

    Rhonda-AZ.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Elaine on November 21, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    Hi,

    I just wanted to say also that your hair is sooo beautiful and fits your face well and might I say way your make up is very beautiful. Do mind sharing which line it is?

    I love your blog.

    Thanks so much for sharing.

    Elaine
    San DIego

    Reply

    • Thank you for the compliments Elaine,

      I am currently wearing MAC Studio Fix. I found the trick with that powder is to put it on with a brush as opposed to a sponge applicator. The sponge application goes on much heavier. For an everyday look, using the brush helps the application to go on much lighter. If you decide to go with the Studio Fix, don’t be alarmed by the dry look that you will have initially. Twenty minutes later when your natural oils begin to surface, you will be amazed at how beautiful and natural the make up looks. Another great powder is Sephora’s Matifying Powder. Last but not least, in the summer months when it’s too hot for makeup I use a mineral bronzer by Bella Pierre. It’s light and breezy and people always say, “your skin is so beautiful, what do you use”.

      Of course the best way to have gorgeous skin is to eat whole foods (for proper elimination), drink plenty of water and get the appropriate amount of sleep that your body requires. Adding supplements to your diet won’t hurt either. Those are the real reason why I often receive compliments on my skin. The make up just enhances what is appearing from the internal work that I have done.

      I hope this has been helpful Elaine.

      ~Anu

      Reply

  18. Posted by Kimberly Frelix on February 22, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Hi,
    Your hair is really beautiful. I would like to know what colors did you use? I am planning on ordering the baby curl hair and the gypsy curl and I would like the colors you are wearing.

    Thank You

    Reply

  19. Posted by Rhonda on June 1, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Hi I absolutely love your tom boy baby curl style. How much does this hairstyle cost? How many inches of natural hair do you have to have?

    I recently took down micro twist and they broke my hair off really bad. I think it is because they used JAM on it when they did them. It made my hair knot up really bad when I took them down.

    Are the tom boy baby curl braids real small? And how long does that style last? I also workout and would like to know if it is a good style for working out?

    Reply

  20. Posted by Karen Medearis on October 27, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    I really enjoy your Khamit website I look at it everyday all the styles are great. I began my natural journey back in 2005. My hair has went through some tuff battles. I two strand twist my own hair in 2006 and it grew 5 inches. I recently went through a seperation from my financee and cut them off. I am still natural. I wanted to know does your company have an example like a palette to use as a tool to show others how the loc extension can come in a variety of thickenesses?

    I

    Reply

    • Thank you Karen,
      It’s amazing how a life altering experience can lead us to make a drastic change, like cutting off our hair. That’s a new beginning for you. Congratulations!

      We don’t have a palette of sizes but we do start with a minimum size, that is about the size of a pencil and we can go larger from there.

      Reply

  21. Posted by Michelle on December 21, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Is the baby curl hair natural or synthetic?

    Reply

  22. Posted by Amaya Kelley on January 9, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Hi Anu,

    I live in the Detroit, Michigan area and I was wondering if you know of a location near me that does baby curl twist?

    Reply

  23. Posted by Lisa on February 5, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Since my natural hair is longer than 3 inches, would the Baby Curl Twist work better than the Tom Boy. How long does each style last?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

