Going Natural

This past weekend Khamit Kinks was part of a Natural Hair Show put together by Mireille Liong, called Going Natural.  This show featured styles without the use of extensions.  Itimg_0746 was a very creative and inspiring experience.  It took me back to the days when I first began braiding hair professionally and there were no options to have extensions. That was in the late ’70’s.  We’ve come a long way Baby!

On a personal tip, I’ve been wearing my hair natural for 41 years.  Yes, at the tender age of ten, I had to have all my hair cut off because of the damage a perm did to both my hair and scalp.  I never looked back.  I believe that haunting experience set me on the path I’m on today…

There seems to be new converts to the natural hair experience everyday and I am very happy about that. Both young and mature sisters are taking the plunge for all kinds of reasons.  The best reason is when it just comes from the soul and you can no longer resist the pull to return to what’s real and true; in other words returning to your roots instead of trying to beat them down with chemicals.

But tell me what’s your story?  What lead you down this path and what has it meant to you mentally and spiritually? Let us hear from you.

BTW, these fabulous clothing designs were leant to us by Wedding Designer Cassandra Bromfiield are they are for sale at very discounted prices.  Check her out.

32 responses to this post.

  1. It’s my mother’s going natural story I would like to share:
    She was a teacher in the NYC school system and had permed her hair for years. Then came the radical 60’s and turbulant 70’s. The principal of her school had a run in with Afro Clad individuals and made a derogatory comment about them and thier hair (don’t remember what the incident was or the year). Well, that’s when she let the perm go and wore an Afro till the end of her life this September 08.
    I can say I remember both of my mommys, Afro-less and Afro-Strong, same woman who was proud of who she was including her hair. I never struggled with whether my hair was straight enough, but I won’t say I don’t have hair struggles. Her natural was a strong stubtle acknowledgement my hair was not all I should be measured by. That was the best Hair lesson I could have.

    Reply

  2. I am so happy to see so many women making the decision to accept themselves the way God made them.

    My story started well before I was born. When my mother found out that I was a girl she decided to do everything in her power to give me a full head of hair. So she ate and took every type of natural supplement that was related to hair and health.

    I cam out with a full head of curls. Soon she found that she had gotten more than she bargined for. I was a tiny little girl with a whole lot of hair. It was touture for both of us to have her do anything with it.

    To make a long story short I started getting chemical treatments in elementary school. There was the hate “Jheri Curl”, box perms, the works. Beauticians always complained when they would see me coming. I made them work for their money.

    Early on I decide when I could I would learn how to do my own hair. It has taken me a while but twenty+ years later I’m happy that God gave me my thick multi textured head of hair. I’ve had pleanty ups and downs but all in all they have helped me to be more understanding to those who struggle and fall back in to chemical treatments.

    I’m truly greatful for natural websites as well as natural salons like KhamitKinks that encourage excellence and are helping to make going natural and staying natural a whole lot easier.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Monique on December 15, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Hi.
    I am interested in ordering hair from your establishment. I’m just a lil confused about the difference between the Baby Curl hair and the Gypsy Curl hair. I know I should probably be able to tell the difference from the pics.. but the difference just isn’t that obvious to me. Could you please help me?
    Also, does the Baby Curl hair come in various lengths- or just one? I have a pretty full afro (about 5 inches) and I’m wondering if my hair will blend in appropriately, or if I will need longer extensions.
    Thanks for your time!

    Reply

    • Dear Monique,

      The difference in the two types of hair has to do with source and quality. The Baby Curl Hair is true human hair and is of a very good quality. It’s soft to the touch and has an amazing texture and curl that can be used more than once.

      The Gypsy Curl hair is Korean made and comes in a package. All that hair says human hair but you can’t treat it like human hair. For instance if you shampoo it, it tangles and becomes a mess.

      Reply

      • Posted by Ashley C on February 16, 2010 at 5:32 pm

        Anu,

        So if you had to suggest one of the 3, kinky, gypsy, or baby curl, twists…. Which one would you say lasts the longest??

        I really like the look of the gypsy twists, but I know the kinky twists will last a while and will continue to look good. I have had them before, but wanted to try something different.

        Reply

        • Dear Ashley,

          They all last the same amount of time, which is three months. However, the one with the most durability when it comes to holding up to exposure to water, is the kinky twist. The Gypsy is a cross between the kinky and the Baby Curl and the Baby Curl is the softest of all the textures. If you take care of it though, not only will it last and look good, but the hair can be cleansed and used a second time.

          Reply

  4. I delayed the process of going natural for a myriad of reasons until I realized that some of the things causing me concern were diminishing over time.

    1. Many of the black women I see in the corporate environment have natural styles that look very professional.

    2. Tracie Thoms’ story (of CBS’ Cold Case) in the Khamit Kinks digital newsletter was inspiring, and I loved Thoms’ baby curls style. I knew that style would be perfect for me.

    3. I was sick of not knowing what to do with my hair when it was time for a perm retouch, and thus hiding it under a hat or frying it to force it into a straight style.

    Today (Dec. 16, 2008) I called Khamit Kinks and made an appointment. My hair looks fantastic, and the staff is wonderful.

    With Khamit Kinks, I don’t feel alone in this journey, and I look forward to the process.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sonia on December 28, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    I decided to let my perm grow out two years old. I was tired of salons and the damage I paid for. While allowing my relaxer to grow out, I noticed sisterlocks. It was love at first sight. I knew that was just what I wanted. I love my sisterlocks and the feel of the coiled locks. It is an amazing process and it is what God made….no alteration

    Reply

  6. Posted by kiara D on September 22, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    i started going natural about two years ago at the tender age of 17. My natural journey has truly been a blessing and i must say that it is quite relaxing(no pun intended). I’ve received nothing but compliments on my new found natural mane. I never want to perm it again!

    Reply

  7. Posted by sxm1985 on October 1, 2009 at 8:31 am

    I was sick of cutting my hair due to hair damage, I had also hair breakage each time I simply touch them. I kept cutting and my hair became very short and I said STOP!!!!! I will go natural but I did not want to do it alone, I went in a specialized hairdresser Adornment365 in London. Worth it!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Shemira on December 25, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    I am sixteen and I stopped perming my hair two to three years ago. I first got my hair permed at age five (so young) and everything seemed okay at first. I had long pretty ethnic hair before and then I had pretty straight hair after.
    After a while my hair began to fall out. At age seven I had many bald spots (eww). I had to always have my hair in extensions (cornrowed/box-braided). Because my hair was thinned out, sometimes the braids would fall out. My hair began to grow back and I got it permed again at age 12 (stupid me). It was long and fine for awhile, but it began to break no matter what I tried. I continued to perm and cut it until my freshman year of high school. When my hair grew out enough I chopped it and now I’m a natural all the way.

    My hair is finally growing again. It is very short but thick and coarse, and I have a lot (well I think so anyways). I usually braid my own hair or leave it in a puff, and occasionally I put in extensions (because I don’t like weave). I am happy with my hair, although it’s annoying to deal with daily.

    I am now considering sisterlocks, I like them because they are small and versatile. I hope I will be able to get them in the future, maybe right after high school (2011, YAY!! lol) or even before that.

    I honestly think what to do with your hair is a personal choice, however don’t forget your African roots sistas!!

    Reply

    • Dear Shemira,

      You have certainly acquired a lot of history with your hair in your short years here on the planet. Although you learned the hard way, I am glad you’ve learned your lessons about honoring your hair at this stage in life while you’re young enough to prevent permanent damage.

      In terms of my African roots, what would make you think I’ve forgotten them? I am they and they are me.

      Reply

  9. Posted by Shemira on December 26, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    I don’t think you’ve forgotten your roots. I like how you inspire black women alike.

    I wrote that for the benefit of anyone who needs a reminder

    Reply

  10. Posted by Neissha on December 26, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Hello Anu,
    I recently turned 34 and have decided to go natural. I want to be able to take care of my hair that God gave me. I am in OK and I’m in desperate need of help. Could you recommend anyone in the area, products or just what to do in general? I really want to embark on this journey, but I want to do it the right way and be positive all the while maintaining a professional look. Oh by the way, I absolutely love your “Nu Fro”.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Sacrednote on December 29, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Anu

    This is for Neissha

    Have you considered sister locks? I have had my locks fohr 1 1/2 years now. I absolutely love them. Sister locks are so versatile and I am certain that you can find a consultant in your area. Log on and see what you think. http://www.sisterlocks.com/

    Reply

  12. Posted by Neissha on December 29, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Will do, thanks so much (smile).

    Reply

  13. Posted by neissha on January 4, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    No I haven’t, but I did check the site. Thanks for the information.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Dee on January 7, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Dear Anu,

    For the past couple of years my scalp has been scaling a lot, which requires me to wash my hair twice per week. Additonally, my hair has been thinning and I have very sensitive “tender” scalp.
    My dermatologist and my hairstylist here in ATL have recommended that I stop perming my hair and consider flat ironing. They suggested I may have eczema. I do not want to flat iron my hair as I feel this process will entail too much maintenance.
    Therefore, I have decided to transition from perm to lock.

    Can you recommend a Natural Hair Salon here in Atlanta that can provide the locking experience comparable to Khamit Kinks?
    Also, can you recommend the best route to go from perm to lock for my hair condition.

    Thanks ever so much for your help.

    Reply

    • Dear Dee,
      Talk about going from one extreme to the next! Are you really ready? In terms of which way to proceed it really depends on a number of variables like how much new growth do you have, are you willing to cut of most of the perm, or are you willing to wear braids or twists until you have enough new growth to work with, the techniques and skills of the professionals you have access to. Personally I just don’t think any locking techniques look good with permed hair. Though many recommend the option of Sister Locks because you can then curl and style the permed Sister Locks to look like permed styles. I haven’t been to salons in Atlanta and I would suggest that you go to check out salons in person to get a real sense of what they offer and your level of confidence for them to provide for you what you need. Two salons that I know of are Braids, Weaves and Things and Uzury by Shelly Toppin 687-612-7583. Shelly was a top Stylist at Khamit Kinks here in NY before she relocated.

      Best of luck and please keep me informed with your process and progress.

      Reply

  15. Posted by Penelope on January 31, 2010 at 1:53 am

    Hi Anu…..I love this site.

    OK I am 50 yrs and have worn my hair straight most of my life, but have wanted to go natural for several years. Haven’t used perms in more than 20 years. But the problem is I have tried several products on my natural hair and it just looks and feels very dry and dehydrated. I recently cut my hair to a TWA, and it has grown enough to wear starter twist. I work in a corporate environment and need to keep my hair professional. I would really like to try the Nu-Afro you wear….that is lovely. I live in Los Angeles Area, can you recommend products to keep my natural hair soft with nice sheen, also someone who can give me this look Nu-Fro.

    Thanks, Penny

    Reply

    • Hi Penelope,
      I’ve never heard of a TWA cut, but it’s great to know that you are looking for natural alternatives. The products that I use on my own hair are Anu Essentials and Jane Carter Solution. In terms of a Stylist that can do the A Nu-Fro you might want to check out the directory at The Coil Review. The A Nu ‘Fro is a simple style of Starter Locs that are stripped. Most natural hair care Stylist should be able to execute this style. Let me know how it works out.

      Reply

  16. Posted by Vanessa on April 20, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Hi Anu,

    Do you have any suggestions for natural hair salons in Norfolk/Newport News, VA area? I did the big chop and want to try starter locs, but I want them to look nice and professional. And how did you get the Nu-fro look? I love it!

    Reply

  17. Posted by YemiD on February 21, 2011 at 12:28 am

    Dear Anu: Please let me know whom I should contact if the Cassandra Bromfield pieces are still available. I’ve been eyeing that green tulle for months!

    Reply

  18. Posted by Ms.C on March 27, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    Hello MsAnu, my story of going natural is a short and simple one. I have been goin to the same hair stylist for 20yrs, you name it Ive had/done it. I decided to move to the Dal area 8 mos ago. I went to 2 stylist and was VERY unsatisfied, at that point I decided to try something Ive never done before NATURAL! I started from scratch I cut all the chemicials out and went from there, my TWA is now a big puff…lol and I dont know wht to do with it. I want a twist out wit a lil more length to it…what hair do you suggest I use baby curl or gypsy to get the twist out look/affect. I thank you in advance for your time and advice!!!!!7

    Reply

    • Dear Ms. C,
      Congrats on going natural. In terms of a Twist-Out, that style is typically achieved using your own hair. You can have a twist extension style with Baby Curl or Gypsy hair, but that wouldn’t be considered a Twist Out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

