Your Healthy Hair

Your own hair

Let’s face it, no matter how great your weave or extensions look, it looks all the more better with the foundation of a healthy head of hair. When you treat your hair good my nourishing it with treatments, the results pay off. Your hair becomes stronger and better able to sustain a great hair do. At Khamit Kinks we encourage our clients to treat their hair good and we offer treatments to help them do so. This is what you can do on the outside.

Feeding your hair from the inside is even more important. We recommend a balanced diet, sufficient in-take of water for internal hydration, a great multi-vitamin coupled with extra vitamin A and E – nutrients that are great for hair, skin, and nails.

Hair Treatments at Khamit Kinks

Moisture Blend Treatment– Is an intense deep conditioning treatment. The Moisture Blend treatment is a moisturizing treatment great for dry, brittle hair, split ends, color treated hair, sun bleached hair, and hair exposed to chlorine. It is also great for de-tangling the hair and makes hair more manageable. This is an excellent treatment for de-tangling children’s hair. $40.00

Icy Mint – is for dry itchy scalp and excessive dandruff. Helps to exfoliate the scalp and increases blood circulation. This treatment also helps alleviate odor that is trapped in the hair. Additionally, the Icy Mint treatment gives a refreshing and invigorating feel to the scalp. $45.00

Jane Carter Treatment – a great treatment for someone who is experiencing for hair breakage, thinning hair or balding . The Jane Carter treatment is a five step process that helps to rejuvenate the scalp and repair the hair. Jane Carter’s products are specially formulated with herbs and essential oils. $55.00

Miss Jessie’s Rapid Recovery Treatment – is a great treatment for nourishing and conditioning hair that is dry and brittle.  It restores silkiness, sheen and moisture to all textures.  This treatment also prevents breakage and ensures healthy growing hair.  This treatment is enhanced with heat from sitting under our steamer. $55.00
Deep Conditioner – any of the above treatments without the steam process. However, the steam allows much more penetration of products into the shaft of the hair and below the surface of the scalp. $25.00

Hot Oil Steam – This hot oil treatment is a simple process that hydrated the hair with the use of Khamit Kinks’ special formulated hair oils. $35.00

Hot oil treatment – Hot oil treatment is great for naturally dry hair such as Locs. This treatment re-hydrates hair. $25.00

106 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lala on June 5, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    WHY ARE YOU GUYS SOOOOOOOO EXPENSIVE???

    Reply

    • Dear Lala,

      Expensive is really relative. It depends on what you’re looking for. We have something for every budget. But what I find is that often people don’t want what’s in their budget. They want something else. My niece has been purchasing Coach bags since High School and I find them to be expensive. She doesn’t work and yet she manages to buy designer bags. I’ve been working all my adult life and I don’t spend my money on designer bags.

      Each person decides for themselves what they are willing to spend their money on, to sacrifice in order to have and no one can dictate that to them but them.

      There are many women who appreciate the quality of work we provide, the professional environment we offer and are willing to spend their money with us because of the reason stated above. But to each their own. Today there are options and you can choose how much you are willing to spend for you hair and support the business that within your price range.

      All the best!

      Reply

      • Posted by lucielle on June 8, 2011 at 8:12 pm

        Are you upset because people ask very valid questions! Your reply really leaves a person with their back up against the wall as if they are going to be scalped and you could care less!!!!!!!

        Reply

        • Dear Lucielle,

          I am not upset in the least. If someone asks a question here, valid or not, I try to answer it as best I can. You say I’m ‘Leaving people with their backs up against a wall as if they’re going to be scalped’??? And then you say, ‘I could care less’??? I don’t know exactly what you are referring to, but that is not my position or my goal here. Please clarify what you are referring to.

          Reply

  2. Greetings,

    Our prices are based on the time it takes to accomplish a style and the skill involved to execute the style properly. If you feel we are expensive, I understand your view and the best thing I can recommend is to find a salon that’s within your budget.

    We wish you all the best.

    ~Anu

    Reply

  3. Posted by Chandra on September 5, 2008 at 9:56 am

    Hi Anu,

    I know this question might be hard to answer without you meeting me in person, but perhaps you can offer some tips that I could use until I have the chance to visit.

    I’m not sure what to do regarding the texture of my hair. It’s changed over the past few years making it hard for me to know what type of products to use.

    I’m just guessing, but I think my hair texture has changed to due my pregnancy four years ago, and perhaps blowing drying and flat ironing a little too much.

    I’ve been natural for 12 years, but have experimented with texturizers (haven’t had one for over 4 years) and pressing (very sporadically). But I’ve mostly worn my hair in twists, cornrows or in an afro ponytail.

    I wore two-strand twists all through college and grad school — they’ve always been my “go-to” style, but for some reason now my hair won’t hold the style. The twists start to unravel after a few days. I’m not doing anything different but my hair seems to be straighter in the front, while it remains somewhat kinkier in the back.

    My hair has always been soft , frizzy and porous. It shrinks when wet. But seems even more so now. I’d love to wear my in twists, wear it out in a ‘fro, or even in curls, but my hair won’t hold any style. When I do get it pressed, the minute a mild wind hits it, it starts flying everywhere. And pressing is no option in humid weather, it’s starts to shrink and frizz shortly after I leave the salon. I always feel the need to keep it in cornrows, just so that it stays neat.

    Do you have any tips for me? I appreciate your help!

    Chandra

    Reply

  4. Hi Chandra,

    Adding heat to your hair can change the texture and so in many cases it will take some time before your hair returns to its original texture. Cornrows may be a great option until your hair has recovered from the heat treatments it has been exposed to.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Toni on September 24, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Hi Anu,

    What type of deep conditioning or hot oil treatment do you recommend for very dry locs?

    Toni

    Reply

  6. Dear Toni,

    Locs tend to be naturally dry, that’s why here at Khamit Kinks, hot oil treatments are included in our grooming process using our natural Khamit Kinks Hair Oils.

    In terms of a deep conditioning treatment, I would recommend a steam method using one of our nourishing treatments. The deep conditioning treatment systems that we offer are Jane Carter Solutions, Miss Jessie’s Rapid Recovery Treatment, or our Moisture Blend Treatment. If you aren’t able to make it to Khamit Kinks, these treatments should still be available to you.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Vickey on December 19, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Hi, Anu is the freez Braid hair human hair and does it all come in one length and other colors? I will be ordering soon! God Bless…..Vickey

    Reply

  8. Posted by Breyan on December 30, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Hi Anu,
    I am thinking about flying into town from Seattle to get my locs thickened with extensions. I am on my second set of locs and because my hair is very fine and I have significant thinning around my edges, my locs are (for the second time) growing in thinner and smaller than I would like. Do you think you loc extension services may help me achieve the look I would like with my locs?
    Thanks and be encouraged,
    Bre

    Reply

    • Dear Breyan,

      The idea of thickening thinning Locs by adding Loc extensions is not the solution that most would imagine. You have to have enough thickness at the roots to support the extra thickness. Otherwise, you will end up pulling the fine hair at your roots right out of your head. The best thing to do at this time would be to send me photos of your hair. Send them to anu@khamitkinks.com And we’ll proceed from there.

      Reply

  9. Posted by Renette on January 1, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Dear Anu:
    I’m thinking of starting locs. I’ve been growing out my processed hair since last Spring by having my hair braided with extensions. My hair is now more than half natural with relaxed hair on the ends. What should be my next step to getting my hair locked.? I still have the braids in (Not since last Spring though. I’ve re-braided).

    Reply

    • Hi Renette,

      Congratulations on your transition to natural hair. The next step would be to see a professional natural hair care provider. They would more than likely recommend that you cut off the the relaxed hair to begin your Locs. If you’re not yet ready to do that then I would say wait until you are. Locs form best and look best with natural hair.

      Reply

  10. Posted by Deborah on January 7, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Hi Anu,
    I have just decided to cut off my processed hair and go (last used gentle treatment August 24, 2009) natural(not loc) I do find that a have thinning hair on top oval of my head while my lower back and sides are full and soft. I need treatment and steam. I condition my hair eggs and mayonise and alternate my shampoo (Diety of hair plant shampoo for hair loss) and Jane Carter moisture nurishing shampoo. For leave in I use Jane Carter shampoo. I naturally dry with a towel and add Infusion also. Later, I use Tea Tree oil every other day and Indian Hemp sparingly. I am still dry and have a small empty spot on the top middle ,but more to the left. What can you suggest. (I am 45 years young, youthfull (mistaking for 32 years)because of the thinning, I get depressed when I take my wig off and relaize this is a sign of aging). What can you suggest. I budget to visit in March 2010. Until then I need help! Thanks youthful-Debbie

    Reply

    • Hi Youthful One,
      Don’t despair! First of all loss of hair isn’t necessarily a sign of aging, it could come from anything at any age. There are children who have loss of hair for one reason or another. So the first thing I would suggest is that you find a way to have a positive outlook on this because there’s fortune in every misfortune, you just have to look for the gold in each circumstance.

      With that said, I must commend you on all that you have been doing to address this matter in a wholesome way, using natural remedies and natural products with botanicals. In the meantime, you didn’t mention what was the cause of the thinning. Do you know? Is it alopecia from stress or heredity or medications etc. I would highly recommend seeing a dermatologist to get to the source of why this is happening. And in the meantime, try Jane Carter’s scalp serum on a daily basis and gently massage that area with the serum. You can also call me once you’ve received a diagnosis for your condition and I can put together an herbal remedy to address the condition based on the diagnosis. I can be reached at 718-422-2600.

      Reply

  11. Posted by Shamieka on January 18, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Anu…I just want to say that I love your craft! I live in Chicago and we have several natural hair salons here, but I would love to visit yours! You give great advice.

    Thanks!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Jackie on January 18, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Hi Anu,
    I am now 24 weeks without chemicals in my hair. I have some gray around my hair line and roots and would like to cover them. What would you reccomend for coloring?

    Reply

  13. Posted by Denise on January 24, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Hello

    I’m slightly confused by what I read on various websites about hereditary baldness.

    All the women in my Mother’s family have gone bald as they have aged. Can this be prevented at all, as I am 38 years old and have been wearing my hair natural for 15 years. I am going bald but it seems to be at a slower rate than the women on my Mother’s side.

    I tend to pig out from time to time on natural supplements like Saw Palmetto, Fenugreek, Sea Kelp and hair & Nail supplements. I then give my body a break as some reports say these are not good for you. I’m not sure if these supplements have helped slow my own hair loss but would love clarification on whether or not hereditary baldness can be avoided.

    I look forward to your advice.

    Denise

    Reply

    • Dear Denise,

      I’ve not heard of any way to reverse the trends female pattern baldness. Men would have stolen if there was such a thing. Though, you’re proof that the process can be slowed down if one refrains from putting chemicals in the hair. The chemicals tend to thin the hair out prematurely whether they’re straighteners or dyes. So you made the right move there. The supplements can’t hurt, but I don’t recommend over doing it. And you might want to try our Medicinal Hair oil. It could help, it definitely won’t hurt.

      Reply

  14. Posted by Jana on February 10, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    I have worn my hair in a short natural hairstyle for the last 25 year. I am now 65 and balding. Is it possible to get a short-hair weave?

    Reply

    • Dear Jana,

      Depending on how much hair you now have, you should be able to get a short weave. We would need to see your hair to know for sure. Is it possible for you to send us pictures via email? Or if possible you if could come into the salon, that would be best.

      Reply

  15. Posted by Nicole on February 19, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Hi Anu,

    I’ve been transitioning to natural for nearly 17 months and would like to know if your salon can assist me with the big chop. I only want my relaxed ends trimmed. No styling with extensions is necessary because I’ve learned how to care for my hair. I just want to get rid of those dreaded straight ends. How much would this cost me if I had this service done at your salon in BK?

    Reply

    • Hi Nicole,
      Congratulations on your transition. Yes, we can cut your hair so that you no longer have permed ends. Please call the salon for details on pricing. 718-422-2600.

      Reply

  16. Posted by Tasha on February 24, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Hello Anu,

    I currently have relaxed hair that I have not relaxed in the last 2mos. I am in the process of going natural. I would like to get loc extensions in 3mos. I wanted to know how long do I need to allow the relaxer to grow out before I can get the extensions? Also, I would like to get them done in your salon but I do not live in the NYC area, so do you do over the phone consultations?

    Thank you for your time,

    Tasha

    Reply

  17. Posted by Jennifer on February 26, 2010 at 11:09 am

    Hi Anu,

    I am getting ready to start growing out my relaxer. The last time it was relaxed was 01/23/10. I have very fine soft hair. What products should I be using? What hairstyles do you recommen for the process?

    Reply

    • Hi Jennifer,

      Your questions depend on a number of variables. What do you want the products to achieve and what type of look and interested in having. You might consider filling out our on-line consultation form. You can also send some photos of your hair so I can have a look at what your hair looks like. And lastly, look through our style gallery to see what appeals to you. I’m not sure if you want to wear a short cut, braids, a weave – so many options, that need to be narrowed down.

      Reply

  18. Posted by Smiley on February 26, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Hi I have a simple question. I need my locs taken out. I know all of my locs will not come out but I need some of my locs taken out. Do you provide this service? If so how much is it?

    Reply

  19. Posted by Mercy on March 10, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Dear Anu,

    I have been getting into Bikram (Hot) yoga and I love it. My only worry is my locs. I have long locs, and I want to keep them long and healthy. Incidentally, I go to yoga three times a week and I fear the heat may damage my hair.

    How can I keep my hair healthy while doing my yoga in a hot, steamy room? I want my hair to maintain its strength and moisture.

    Thanks.

    Reply

    • Dear Mercy,
      You are so lucky to have Locs while practicing Bikram. Bikram is not hairstyle friendly. So many of our clients are practicing Bikram and find it takes a toll on their hairstyle choices. However, you should have no problems with your Locs. Just keep them moisturized with light, natural oils and a leave in conditioner and that should help. The other consideration though, is that you will need to shampoo your hair at least once a week. Be sure to always condition your hair after each shampoo. And have fun!

      Reply

  20. Posted by Daphne on March 16, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Hi Anu, I love your website and plan to visit your salon soon. I emailed a consultation form. I am growing out my relaxer and plan to go natural. In the process I am going to wear natural weaves. I like to chaka weave and hope to visit your salon to get it soon, once I can get an appointment. My question is where do I get the Afro Kinky Woven hair that is used for that hairstyle? I hope they call soon, I am very excited about visiting your salon.

    Daphne

    Reply

  21. Posted by Gena S. on March 17, 2010 at 2:41 am

    Hi Anu
    I would like to make an appointment for the Chaka Khan weave. I love the look and where my hair wild and bushy at times. I would love to take a break from the buns, twists etc… My hair is 100% natural no relaxer for 5 years yay!! My question is..I teach Group Fitness and sweat a lot can this hair be washed? Or should I choose another style. Thank you so much for your time.

    Reply

    • Dear Gena,
      If you’re sweating a lot and need to shampoo often, I wouldn’t recommend the Chaka Khan style. There are other options. Please give us a call. 718-422-2600.

      Reply

  22. Posted by Monica on March 20, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Hello Anu,

    I live in Maryland and I am planning on coming to get my hair twisted. I wanted to know if it is possible to use a combination of the cotton spiral and the gypsy curl? I would like to purchase the hair before I come. And if so how much should I puchase if I want fullness and a length the is a little past my shoulders. Thank you and I am looking forward to the experience.

    Reply

    • Hi Monica,
      That combination that you spoke of is what we refer to as the Kinky Combo. If you double click on the styles at our website, most of them have a pop up window that will give you the details on what is needed to achieve the style in terms of hair, cost of hair etc. You may need just a little more hair considering the length of your own hair.

      Hope this was helpful. We look forward to serving you.

      Reply

  23. Posted by Debbie on March 30, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Greetings Anu,
    I recently purchased the cotton spiral hair to style my own hair in two strand twists. I practiced a few and really liked it so I ordered more. I am unable to travel to your salon and am hoping you can advise me on a couple things. Is this hair re-usable? Will the texture be affected by moisturizers or similar hair products?

    Reply

    • Dear Debbie,
      If you don’t cut the hair and if you gingerly remove the hair and clean it you may be able to use it again. You would still need some extra hair, because some of it will be lost in the removal and cleaning process.

      Reply

  24. Posted by connie on April 16, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Hi Anu
    I’m so excited about my upcoming consultation ( I sent in my consulation form just this week), however, I have one quick question. My hair is loc (for 10 years now). My hair is falls to the middle of my back. I notice in the last few years, that my locs are thin around my hair line and on top of my head, and few years ago, I did lose two locs 😦 I think I know the reason why (perhaps I was twisting my hair too tight and wearing a pony tail). I wash my hair at least once a week and I re-twist my hair. I stop wearing my hair in a ponytail, but should I retwist my hair after every two washing?

    Reply

    • Dear Connie,
      That’s a lot of work you’re doing with your hair. I don’t think the problem is how often you’re twisting your hair, as long as you’re not twisting it too tightly. I believe you are loosing your hair because it’s too heavy based on how long it is.

      Looking forward to meeting you at your consultation.
      ~Anu

      Reply

  25. Posted by Dianne on April 29, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Hi Anu,

    Do you guys do loc removals?

    Reply

    • Hi Dianne,

      We do not offer Loc removal services. So sorry.

      Reply

      • Posted by Grace Ribadu on April 3, 2011 at 10:04 pm

        Hi Anu:

        Could you, as the professional, render a more elaborate answer to this question, because it’s also MY question. I am surprised that, in addition to not unlocking dreads, you can’t give a better answer, even a referral, just that Khamit doesn’t do them. You are so helpful otherwise, that’s why I’m so surprised that your answer to this question is so cut and dried, i.e., unhelpful. It IS a question to which lots of loc wearers would appreciate an answer.

        Reply

        • Dear Grace,
          It was not my intention to be cut and dry, but we don’t offer this service and I know of no other person or salon that does. Everyone who has ever mentioned having this done, has shared with me that they’ve done it for themselves and would never do for anyone else.

          As I mentioned before call around to salons that offer Loc services and see if this is on their menu. I really don’t what else to say beyond that. If you should decide to un-do your own Locs all I can say is take your time, use plenty of conditioner, expect a lot of hair loss and plan for it to take weeks if not months depending on the length and thickness of your Locs.

          The reason we do not offer this service is because no one would be willing to pay the cost of $75.00 per hour for a service that would take weeks if not a month or so to accomplish. It would really be cost prohibitive.

          Reply

  26. Posted by LisaAH on May 9, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    I would like to know if I made an appointment for a 2 strand twish on my hair. What exactly is including in the pricing. Is there any treatment? Will my hair be washed and conditioned by the salon or is this somehthing that I must do before the visit.

    Reply

  27. Posted by Develyn on June 1, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    Dear Anu,

    I love your website. The styles are awesome. Unfortunately, I live very far away from your location. I live on the West coast, Los Angeles, CA and find it so difficult to find natural salons that specialize in the type of styles you provide at your salon. I am hoping that you have westside connections. If so, Is it possible if you could provide some referrals of salons, located in Los Angeles, that specialize in similar styles? I am transitioning and would love to get the baby curl twists until my straight ends grow out. Thanks in advance.

    Reply

    • Dear Develyn,
      Thank you for the compliment on our website and styles. Unfortunately, I am not aware of any salon in your area that offers our techniques. You might want to Google ‘natural hair salon in LA’ and see what comes up.

      Best of luck to you.

      Reply

  28. Posted by Angie on June 9, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Hi Anu,
    I am currently transitioning and was considering making an appointment at your salon in Brooklyn. I would like to have my permed hair cut so that only the natural hair is left. I did not see anywhere on your site that mentioned that you do “BC’s” aka “Big Chops”. Would your establishment be able to do this type of a cut, and if so, what other services would you recommend be done at that time? ie wash or some kind of treatment as well?

    Reply

    • Hi Angie,

      We have been cutting off permed hair so that a clients true texture can shine through for over 30 years. Now there’s a term for it BC – big chop. Yes, of course we offer this service. In terms of what you should have after that’s done, the sky’s the limit. It really depends on you and what you envision and the health and texture of your hair. Perhaps you should fill out our consultation questionnaire and we can go from there.

      Reply

      • Posted by Angie on June 16, 2010 at 11:05 pm

        Hi, Anu
        Thank you for your response! I am glad to hear that your salon will be able to help me when I am ready to cut my hair. I have one last question, I am currently wearing my hair in a kinky two strand twist with synthetic hair, style. I have never felt comfortable with braids even as a young girl because I felt as though they would pull on my hairline and or cause my hair to loose its thickness, I gave in this one time because my frustration was building when trying to care for the two textures but I doubt that I will braid my hair like this again. What other protective hair styles do you think would be good, that will not cause any damage or will not require my hair to be tightly braided?

        Reply

  29. Posted by Terryann Waldron on June 16, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Hi Anu,

    I have been natural for over 2 years now. While transiting I wore braids, sewn in weaves and wigs. I decided to go natural because my hair was badly damaged from perming. To be honest while transitioning I really was not taking care of my hair. Between the braiding and weaves the damage to my hair got worse and I experienced some balding at the crown of my hair. I recently visited a dermatologist to determine the root of my hair loss. I was diagnosed with Scarring Alopecia. I opted to treat my hair loss by injections. I have definitely seen some improvement. I also started wearing my hair natural, no wigs or weaves. I was wondering what natural hair oils or remedies you can recommend to aid in my hair growth.

    Reply

  30. Posted by Patricia Morgan on June 27, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Dear Anu

    I would like to know how to purchase the afro kinky hair. I didn’t see listed among your hair products.
    I thank you for any coopertion rendered in this regard.

    Reply

    • Dear Patricia,
      Any hair that you do not see on line, means we are unable to provide it for online customers. In this case, this is due to the demand for this hair and the lack of the manufacturer to meet the demand. Consequently, we are unable to get enough of the hair to provide it for on-line customers.

      Reply

  31. Posted by Shamila on July 15, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Hi.

    I have been plagued by facial hair for so long and have tried creams, electrolysis which left a black marks on my skin, waxing etc until I found this amazing little tool called Epicare. It is just a lil spring with handles on either side. I love, love, love it. It is so affordable compared to laser where there is still no guarantee that facial hair will be totally gone. For gals who are used to threading this is the perfect D.I.Y. tool. Got mine at http://www.epicarehome.com. I have been using mine for 8 months now.

    Sham.

    Reply

  32. Posted by Shamila on July 21, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Dear Anu,

    I would like to let you know that I have been plagued by facial hair for so long and have tried creams, electrolysis which left a black marks on my skin, waxing etc until I found this amazing little tool called Epicare. It is just a lil spring with handles on either side. I love, love, love it. It is so affordable compared to laser where there is still no guarantee that facial hair will be totally gone. For gals who are used to threading this is the perfect D.I.Y. tool. Got mine at http://www.epicarehome.com. I have been using mine for 8 months now.

    Sham.

    Reply

  33. Posted by Nedra on August 6, 2010 at 9:01 am

    Dear Anu,

    I am a potential customer because I think that I am in need of a good (better) haircut/bc. Let me gie you some background.

    I have transitioned for about 11 months. Back at month nine or so, my cousin installed some kinky twists for me. As she went along twisting, she cut off most of the relaxed ends, but my hair was dry during the process/she left some ends on to be tucked properly into the braids.

    I took them out and cut off any pieces that I could see that still were relaxed (while soaking wet of course) but I have been cutting for a week and still cannot seem to catch them all. Plus, there is like a peach fuzz kind of thing going on at the top of my head, which i suspect are still the permed ends but strand by strand instead of clumped together (if you get what I’m saying). I’m moving to europe in september and will be own my own for my hair, so I wanted to make sure it was in tip top shape before I left.

    What is this fuzz? Do you think it’s relaxed ends? because if so, i’ll see ya’ll soon at khamit kinks, lol.

    Nedra, nsandiford@gmail.com

    Reply

    • Dear Nedra,
      Hope you’re enjoying the journey to natural hair. In terms of the peach fuzz, it could be residual permed hair or it could be your texture that shows up that way. My hair does the peach fuzz thing and I haven’t had a perm in over forty years. I cut the ends thinking it would go away and it didn’t. However, now that I am using setting creams, I’m having less of a problem with the straight, stringy fuzz that use to hover above my ‘fro. I would have to see your hair to determine if it’s your texture or not. Are you able to come in for a consultation? If so fill out our Consultation Form and we can proceed from there.

      Reply

  34. Posted by regina on September 6, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Hi Anu,

    I have a consultation with you this Friday. I spoke to your receptionist a week ago and she recommended I see Dr. Simmons in regards to my hair loss problem. However, Dr. Simmons’ office has not returned my call in the doctor’s absence. Can you recommend another dermatologist?

    Reply

  35. Posted by Trina on September 9, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Greetings Anu!

    I am at my wits end and extremely frustrated with my hair. Approximately one year ago, I began noticing thinning in my temple area. Immediately, I stopped wearing microbraids and began working with a dermatologist to reverse the damage. Following various tests, he determined that my traction alopecia was reverseable and began a series of steroid injections to stimulate hair growth. Although I am noticing signs of improvement, I am tired of maintaining my hair and continue to make great attempts to camouflage the damage (incorporating human (weave) hair). I know this is not the proper solution as doing so, has slowed down the growth of my hair in the top area where weave is being applied to. So, about a week ago during “frustrated with my hair moment”, I decided to cut off all the relaxed hair and go natural. I had every intention on going to a local salon that could shape my hair into a “feminine” look but i am so hesitant to do so because my temple areas are not completely filled in yet. With this lengthy explanation, please advise if “strategically placed” gypsy or baby curl twists would be an option during the rough transition? How My motto: healthy hair is everything and cost to obtain it should not be limited! Please advise. Thanks in advance for your prompt response.

    Reply

    • Dear Trina,
      I would have to see your hair to make that determination of whether or not I could recommend a style that is typically for strong healthy hair. If you don’t live in the NY area and can not come in for a consultation, then please send me photos of you showing your hair and clear pic of your hairline via email to info@khamitkinks.com

      Reply

  36. Posted by Denaa on October 25, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Hi I’m going natural i haven’t had a relaxer in about 4 months and it is looking really bad and dry, and to be honest I’m thinking about relaxing it again (I really don’t want to), I just dont know what i should do to it to make it better. It is really short in the back and left side and long everywhere else, is there something I could do to make the back and side grow? Please help

    Reply

    • Dear Denaa,
      I am sorry to hear that you’re having such a difficult time on your journey to going natural. I do know that it’s a process and is different for each person. When people say that they are thinking about relaxing again, I wonder why they’re telling me that? If you’re not really ready for the commitment, then you must do what you believe is best for you. Four months isn’t much time into the process, but I know this stage can be frustrating. Have faith and patience if this is really what you want to do. For dryness you should consider deep conditioning treatments. Dealing with two distinct textures can be challenging if you don’t know what you’re doing and you don’t have a good Stylist to encourage and guide you.

      It sounds to me like you could really use a visit to a Stylist who knows how to cut hair. They can start by evening out your length. Sometimes Stylists can go overboard with cutting. You didn’t mention where you live, but wherever you are, try to get a good recommendation for a Stylists that specializes in cutting and will take your concerns into consideration. If your hair isn’t falling out, then after the cut, your hair will probably grow in more evenly. Try to avoid going any place that will try to talk you out of going natural. Perhaps a good barber might be best. Because unfortunately, many natural hair Stylist don’t know how to cut hair properly. And often those who go natural, stop having their hair cut on a regular basis and they really should continue to at least have their ends clipped.

      I hope this has been helpful, let me know how it goes.

      Reply

  37. Posted by Marie on November 13, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    Hello,

    I’ve been natural for almost two years but just recently started wearing my hair in a twist out. I was wondering how often I should clip my ends and how much to cut off. I don’t really use heat but I do hear that you should still clip them. Your site looks very nice. Although I live in Philly. I am interested in coming in.

    Reply

    • Dear Marie,

      Thank you for the compliment on our website. We make every effort to make it user friendly. We have clients that come in to us from Philly all the time. So I hope you will consider that.

      I recommend having your ends trimmed at least four times a year, around the change of each season is a way of keeping on schedule with that. How much should be cut depends on how far up your split ends are. If you cut on a regular basis not much more than an inch or so should need to be cut.

      Reply

  38. Posted by Ellyn on November 21, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Anu,

    I came to your shop in the earlier years. Due to keloids from a wave process I went natural briefly in the early 90’s. Since then I have gone from relaxer, braids, two strand twist and now dreads. I have had my dreads for approximately 6 years. Because of travel and time at the original shop I found someone closer to home. She retired due to family illness and referred me to the person I was with until 2 years ago. Unfortunately, she was a domestic violence victim. I returned to my original beautician and have noticed in this time that my front hairline was thinning and now the back of my hair is breaking as it is growing. It has been cut twice and that seems to have corrected the front issue. However, I have returned to the deceased loc’s person assistant. This is my first experience with natural hair for this length of time. Is this just a progression? Or is there something that needs to be done to correct this? I would joyfully return to you. However, I reside in Maryland now. I maybe in around the Christmas holiday’s. If so, I will make an appointment to come in. If I am able to see you over the holiday’s hopefully

    Reply

    • Dear Ellyn, The first thing I would recommend is to get to the source of why your hair is breaking. Have you seen a Dermatologist? If not please see one to determine the cause. Once you know the cause then it will be easier to address the problem.

      We would love to see you so please give us a call when you’re ready.

      Reply

  39. Posted by Ellyn on November 21, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    continued –

    we will be do something that is portable. Coming back and forth a few times a year is fine. But for continued maintenance would be difficult.

    Reply

    • Hi Ellyn, I certainly understand, but depending on what you decide on you may not need to come except 4-6 times a year. Have you tried the Mega Bus yet. I took it to go to the DC area and paid $20.00 round trip. Check it out.

      Reply

  40. Posted by Lataja on December 12, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Hi,

    How do I care for a preteen hair which seems sensitive to every style I put it in? also, what natural products (shampoo, conditioners, and gel) could I use for my locs which has extensions in it?

    Reply

    • Hi Lataja,
      I’m not sure what you mean by sensitive to every style I put it in??? Is the hair loose, natural, permed, and what kinds of styles are you trying to put it in? For natural products I would recommend Curls or Jane Carter Solutions

      Reply

  41. Posted by Nikki on December 28, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Hi Anu,

    I am beginning my journey to healthier living which includes healthier hair. I have never had long hair even as a child unless I wore extensions. I have worn a perm, color, or extensions or some combination of all 3 for the past 20 + years. However, I am of the age now where how I look and feel both inside and out is paramount. As I begin to make lifestyle, dietary, and social habit adjustments, I hope to make the same improvements in caring for my hair. I have been wearing a quick weave for about six months without a relaxer. My edges are very thin and fragile from the past over-processing and stress. I have about 4 inches of new growth and 2 inches of processed hair. I would like to see how well my hair will grow if I handle it with more care. I am planning to visit your area in the summer of 2011. I am going to try to continue with the quick weaves until then. My question is what products do you recommend that I can order from you company to help my hair become healthier between now and when I visit. I need something that is not too oily so that I can wear the quick weave without tracks slipping out due to the oil contents.

    Thank you for providing such a wonderful website!!

    Reply

    • Dear Nikki,

      Thank you for the compliment on our website. Your story is a wonderful and familiar one, that I took myself many years ago. Once a person has a shift in perspective, it usually reaches out to other facets of their life. Congratulations and much success to you on your new healthy journey.

      What exactly is a quick weave? I’m not familiar with that term. In the meantime, I would recommend that in-between weaving your hair that you make sure to have your ends trimmed. This will help with split ends and help your hair to grow healthier. Also, deep conditioning treatments in between having your hair covered with the weave. Some of the product lines I would recommend are Jane Carter Solution, Curls, and Hair Rules. For your scalp I would recommend Anu Essentials Medicinal Hair Oil. It should be applied lightly and massaged in the scalp. If done correctly, it should interfere with your weave staying in.

      I hope this has been helpful.

      Reply

  42. Posted by Lisa on December 30, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Hello Anu,

    I want to get my hair in shape now that I started working again. What do you recommend, I’ve been wearing wigs and braids when I first lost my job, my hair is natural with no perm, but it seems it won’t grow… I was going to your store next week to get it washed and cut, but if you think there’s more i can do please let me know. Plus that hair style you are wearing in your pic now what type of hair is that it’s beautiful…I would like to try that type of hair out.

    Sincerely

    Lisa

    Reply

    • Hi Lisa,
      Despite appearances your hair is growing, otherwise you’d be bald. It just may be growing slowly or breaking off or both. I would really need to see your hair to determine how you should proceed. Did you book an appointment for a consultation? If not please do, especially since you’re coming in anyway, I can see you while you’re here.

      In term of my hair, I’m currently wearing my own hair in a Twist-Out style, so I’m not sure which style you’re referring to. Do you know the name of the style you’re referring to? Let me know.

      Reply

      • Posted by Lisa on December 30, 2010 at 1:06 pm

        Hello Anu,

        I believe the style is called tom boy, it’s the picture that is attached to your file on here… I’ve been to the shop a before to wash and trim, the stylist there i believe her name was Sheekia or something like that, forgive me if miss spelled her name, however, she did an outstanding job, but that was long ago, now that im working again I want to get my hair on a schedule.

        I will call your store on Tuesday to book an appointment, are you open on Saturday’s.

        Reply

        • Hi Lisa,
          The Tom Boy is a single braid style. And with all single braids/twists styles, we do not recommend them to those who are having falling or weak hair issues. It would be best for us to see you and your hair before making a firm recommendation since you have concerns about your hair. In the meantime, yes, we are always open on Saturdays except this year we were closed on Christmas day which fell on a Saturday. And likewise, we will be closed tomorrow on New Years Day. Baring a major holiday falling on Saturdays, we are open. However, we don’t give consultations on Saturdays. But it’s a possibility of having one on Sundays.

          Reply

  43. Posted by Cassia D. on January 12, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    Hi Anu,
    At the moment I have a perm, but i really want to go natural. I have been asking around but im still very confused as to what the process of going natural requires. What are my first steps?

    Reply

    • Dear Cassia,
      There are several different options for how to proceed with going natural. The first step of course is to stop having your hair chemically straightened. One easy way to transition is to have your hair braided or twisted with extensions. With that option you don’t have to worry about doing your hair for months. When you remove the extensions, you will have a couple of inches of new growth. Another option is the Big Chop, just to cut off all the relaxed hair. That is a drastic move and not for the faint of heart. It’s something you really have to be ready for. Another option is to wear your hair in sets, roller set, rod set, or straw sets. This allows you to wear your own hair out without having to comb or groom two different textures. Grooming two different textures is a recipe for breakage. For further information, please fill out our Consultation Questionnaire and we will get back to you.

      Reply

  44. Posted by Rose on January 27, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Hello Anu,

    I just reviewed your website and read several comments. In particular I like the Weaves: Textured Bob, Chubby Twist, and The Cola…Your Own Hair: Two strand-twist out, straw set, and chubby twist. I’m wondering what to do with my hair. I just returned from NY about 6 months ago and I am looking for a salon that can FIX my damaged hair. My hair is very dry, uneven, micros pulled out my edges, I got a trim maybe once last year, I’ve colored my hair several times, and I’ve changed hair products based on friends’ advice several times. But one advice everyone had in common was to get a great Stylist.

    I’ve been natural since I was in my teens after a failed attempt at a perm, now 26, my hair is not as thick, as long nor as healthy as it was through HS and college. This past summer I’ve straightened and blowed dry my hair almost everyday because of the heat. Now the texture of hair has changed completely and I am at a lost on what to do with my hair. I usually waer two-strand twist or braids in the front and two-strand twist in the back, but they no longer hold the same.

    I’ve decided to wear weaves and goddess braids for now, but I know in between these styles I need to take care of my hair. I feel like I need a big chop and deep condition treatment. But a Big Chop is the last resort I hope. Any suggestions on products to use or should I make an appointment for a consultation?

    Thanks,

    Reply

    • Dear Rose, you are on the journey and taking some bad detours. I do recommend you fill our Consultation Questionnaire and come in and see us when your hair is out, not in any type of braids or twists or any style, so we can see your hair just as it is. The Big Chop is for those who are ready for it. If I believe that is the course you should take, I will let you know, but ultimately, it’s your decision. We try our best to meet you where you are.

      We look forward to serving you.

      Reply

  45. Posted by Gabrielle on February 7, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Hi there!

    So I’ve decided to go natural. I don’t have a huge problem with my permed hair but I am noticing its getting thinner on the sides. I just want my thick, healthy hair back! My last perm was at the end of November this past year. I don’t have the heart to do the big chop and I don’t want to braid my hair either. I’ve been told by my friends, who are all natural now, that putting my hair in some type of set (more than likely a straw set) would be right up my alley. My hair naturally grows really quickly so I already have a good amount of growth since my last perm. I want to keep as much length as I possibly can and gradually cut off my permed hair. My question is how long does a straw, roller and rod set normally last, on average? Does one typically last longer than the others? And how long does it take to actually do? This will be the deciding for me because I want a style that will last longest and I was hoping to come in this weekend to get it done. Thanks so much for your advice!

    All the best,

    Gabrielle

    Reply

    • Hi Gabrielle,

      I love it when sisters want their healthy, natural hair back! The sets all last approximately the same amount of time. It can last up to three weeks depending on your hair texture, your lifestyle (do you workout and sweat on your scalp), how you protect your hair when bathing, and in the rain. It’s basically a set, like any roller set and moisture can, depending on the intensity of it, either cause the set to droop or the curls to fall altogether. The entire process takes about two hours.

      Reply

  46. Posted by Raya on March 4, 2011 at 1:00 am

    Hi Anu:

    I have relaxed hair and i heard that i would have to let at least 2 inches grow from my roots to start my locs. This would be my 2nd time getting locs and i really dont want to go through the process again be. I would use regular shampoo to wash my hair and the tips began to come out because the texture of my hair (which is very soft kinky hair)….would loc extensions be the best way i can keep my locs in? I really do miss them

    Reply

    • Dear Raya,
      Is your hair relaxed at this time? Loc extensions are one option, a very expensive option at that. I would really need to see your hair to further advise you. If your hair is relaxed you might consider braid or twists extensions until you have enough length that you are comfortable with. Can you come in to see us for a consultation? If not send a pic to anu@khamitkinks.com

      Reply

  47. Posted by Raya on March 4, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Yes I can come in next Wednesday or next weekend…and yes my hair is relaxed

    Reply

  48. Posted by Raya on March 4, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Okay I did it…thanxs Ms. Anu

    Reply

  49. Posted by Belinda A. Anderson on March 5, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    Dear Ms. Anu;
    I really do not know what to do with my hair. I’ve been natural since 2003, and that’s when I started my locks. My problem is that when I went back home to Central America, Panama City no one there knew how to do locks or to treat locks. Also I really do not like just any one hands in my hair. my hair got matted because I really did not know how to do my hair so I always had my hair up, and wrapped most of the time. when I came back to the States, I had to cut some of my locks off, then I kept my hair in a pony tail because my long locks will cover the part that I cut off. Now I find my hair thinning in the center of my head. As I’m writing u this, tears are rolling down my face of shame of what I did to my hair. My girlfriend at work gave me this article about your salon because I was about to go to the barber shop and shave all of my hair off. Ms. Anu, my hair does not look strong, thick, and beautiful no more. I love what I read in the article, and I also went to your web site, love what I read also, and I hope u can salvage with what I have left on my head. I will like to set up an appointment with you as soon as possible. I live in Brooklyn, NY in the East Flatbush area near Brooklyn College. If you will please give me direction on how to get there it will be greatly appreciated. I saw your prices and I find it expensive, but like you stated if you can spend money on designers bags and clothes why not do the same to your “CROWN”. Oh before I forget, I noticed that you have specials on Tuesdays, and Wednesdays, I do not have those days off, but in the future I will be taking days off to get the specials 🙂 my days off is Fridays and Saturdays. Hope to hear from you soon Ms. Anu till then. Sincerely,
    Belinda

    Reply

    • Belinda,
      My heart ached to hear your story of your hair. It sounds like you may have experienced traction alopecia from the weight of your Locs. Please fill out our Consultation Questionnaire. Once you do that we will be in touch with you (not before Tuesday) to set up your appointment. You can take the 2 or 3 train to Nevins and walk. But we are closest to the A, C, F, or R trains to Jay Street. Or the B, Q, and R trains to DeKalb. All this is on our website at our Contact Us page.

      I am looking forward to seeing you and seeing how we can remedy your situation and wipe those tears away forever.

      Reply

  50. Posted by Belinda A Anderson on March 7, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Hi Ms. Anu, I was shock to hear you say “Alopicia” because I asked my mom and she stated it runs in the family midly. I started to cry because I do not want to be bald Ms. Anu, no ofence to any one who suffers from it. It is what it is and I’m going to deal with it. I filled out the questionaire and I can’t wait to begin my journey. Thank you for listening so attentively to my situation, it kind of making me feel good again to know that something can be done. Till then Belinda

    Reply

  51. Posted by LISA on April 20, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Anu… I am in desperate need of your help advice in trying to revive my hair in this Phoenix,Arizona heat. Unfortunately I was all natural and had been for eight years and last June I decided to do a relaxer and it hasn’t been beneficial to my hair. So now I’ve stopped the relaxing and trying to grow the relaxer out. My hair and scalp is EXTREMELY dry and the breakage is tremendous all around the edges, I almost have none or bald spots, but the crown is very healthy. Do you have any suggestions for me? Also I am looking to being in your area in mid September 2011 so I would like to arrange to come and get a service from you. I also would like to know if you will share with me if there is a school that I can attend in your area or if you teach a on how to do the sistah’s lock?

    Thnaks and Blessings

    Reply

    • Hi Lisa,
      In an arid environment like that you must moisturize, moisturize and condition. Keep your hair as hydrated as possible with deep conditioning treatment and protein treatments. And I would even go as far as to say when it’s really hot and dry wear a protective covering a hat, scarf or head wrap. In the meantime, you may want to cut off as much of the chemically relaxed hair as you’re comfortable with releasing, because it’s going to keep breaking.

      In terms of Sister Locks training, it would be best to contact them directly. SisterLocks.com

      Reply

  52. Posted by Megan on April 25, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Hello,
    I am wanting to start dreadin or twistin my hair but not sure what i want to do. My hair is past my shoulders now,my last perm was early Feb. Just wanting to know the best technique-twists or dreads. Also is it true once you dread your hair if you want them out you have to cut to your new growth? Any feedback would be great, thank you in advance.
    Megan

    Reply

    • Hi Megan,
      Welcome to the world of natural hair where many options are available. There’s no one way that things have to be done. Twisting is one option and locking is another. They are a bit different as one can be temporary (twists) and one is rather permanent (Locs) until you cut them off.

      You don’t have to cut your hair to the new growth, but I wouldn’t recommend locking permed hair. It looks terrible like rat’s tails. You could wear other styles until your new growth gets to a length that your comfortable with.

      I recommend you fill out our Consultation Questionnaire and we can go from there.

      Reply

  53. Hi Anu,

    I really want to go natural me and my sister but were scared that we won’t know how to properly
    take care of our hair or what natural hairstyles would best fit us. We both have very thick hair and I
    have a very dry itchy scalp with dandruff. Can you please walk us through steps of what to do to go from
    permed to natural hair???

    Reply

    • Hi There,
      No need to be scared of your true beauty, it will be liberating and once you’re all the way there, you’ll wonder why you waited so long. Of course the first thing to do is to stop have chemical services. From there you need to look into having styles that don’t require daily grooming. Either have your hair twisted, braided, or put into a set. Sets are great for those who don’t want braids or twists or weaves. When you have a set your hair has a chance to rest for a couple of weeks without combing, blow-drying etc. Grooming two distinctly different textures (your natural hair and the relaxed hair) is what causes breakage, especially of the permed hair. It is the weakest link, so it’s more likely to break off or start shedding.

      In terms of itching and flaking scalp, I highly recommend our Anu Essentials Medicinal Hair Oil. It is made with the finest of ingredients and infused with botanicals to sooth and nurture your scalp.

      If you’re in the NY area, you may want to fill our Consultation Questionnaire and have a phone consult if you’re not in the area.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

