Natural Nuptial Styling

wedding

The wedding season is soon upon us. Already we are receiving calls from brides about consultations for their weddings. I am glad to know that there are a growing number of self assured Sisters, who don’t loose their minds, just because they’re getting married and decide they have to straighten their hair, to be considered a beautiful and “traditional bride”.

I’ve heard stories of brides who cut off their Locks, straighten their hair, and ask their Bride’s Maids and Matron’s of Honor to not wear natural hair to their weddings!!! Can you imagine? Sounds like something from the 50’s, but it goes on today believe it or not. Now honestly, to each his own. But to change who you are for a wedding, is asking a bit much!

At Khamit Kinks we love catering to brides. We consult with them and try to find out just what they need for their special day. There are a number of variables that go into deciding which style would be best. The bride will need to decide if she wants a stationary style or something versatile? If you are honeymooning in the Caribbean and getting in the water, then you will need a style that can handle the water. What kind of hair do you have and what kind of look you want to have? These are some of the things to consider when choosing a wedding style.

If you’re getting married, know that Khamit Kinks is here to serve you and can give you a stunning wedding style for your special day that can stand up to whatever kind of “activity” you are planning for your honeymoon. And remember, we are also available to do the make up for both you and your wedding party.

We hope to consult with you soon and we look forward to serving you.

Head adornment by Sherrie Hobson of http://www.beaulonistyle.com

Clothing by Cassandra Bromfield of http://www.cassandrabromfield.com

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Branigan on April 3, 2008 at 7:11 am

    I love that hair style on the cover of natural nuptial styles…it looks like spiral curls. How did you achieve that look?

    Regards
    Branigan

    Reply

  2. Hi Branigan,

    That style is a Two Strand Twist using mostly the models own hair. We also added a little of the Baby Curl hair to give it a little length in the front.

    Reply

  3. Posted by ktc on December 21, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I’m having a destination wedding—-and my hair is natural (I actually just started wearing my hair natural about 9 months ago). My stylist will not be able to attend the wedding with us—what are some suggestions for my hair.

    Reply

    • Dear KTC,

      Have you decided on a style for your wedding? Will you wearing your own hair or will you be adding extensions? I suggest that you get a style that it very low maintenance. I need to know more about what style you’re wearing in order to give suggestions. If you’d like a suggestion for how to wear your hair, please go to our website and fill out the Consultation Questionnaire.

      Reply

  4. Posted by amsalah on January 24, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Hello Anu,

    I love this style. Can you tell me how much of my own natural hair, I will need to have, before the baby curl hair is added, in order for me to get this style. Thanks.

    Reply

    • Dear Amsalah,

      It is best that you have at least three inches of your own hair and I tell you this from experience. My hair is not three inches yet and I’ve tried the Baby Curl and once the hair is shampooed, then there is slippage. The other option is to have the hair looped in, which is more like a weaving process. But the with the braided version, I definitely recommend at least three inches.

      Reply

  5. Hi Anu:

    I’m hoping that you can offer some guidance. I live in Trinidad in the Caribbean, so as much as I would love to visit Khamits Kinks, right now the best I can hope for is great advice.

    My relaxed hair is in need of a rest from years of chemical treatments, so I am going to braid my hair around the middle of December. However, I am due to relax my hair next week around November 19th, and have been receiving conflicting advice. My question is, should I relax as scheduled and then braid in December, or should I just continue weekly deep condition treatments until it’s time to braid my hair? I am considering truly giving relaxing an extended rest, and would love my hair to be stronger and healthier.

    Looking forward to your response.

    Reply

    • Dear Josie-Ann,

      I am biased as I can never see a need to “relax” one’s hair. However, in this case, it is all the more evident that what would be the point of another relaxer when you are intending to go natural? Continue the conditioning, wear your hair in styles that don’t require daily grooming and you should be fine when the time comes to have your hair braided.

      Reply

  6. Thank you Anu. It seemed obvious to me that conditioning until time to braid was the way to go, but after being told by a couple ‘experts’, “Nah, relax before you braid”, I began to doubt.

    Thanks so much for clearing it up!

    Reply

  7. Good article, I’m glad I’ve found this post. There are many other posts I need to read from you, I like your style. Have a nice day 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

